Equestrian Facility 358x90
Article Image

Brightwell Named Erwin Scholar-Athlete of the Year

May 02, 2013
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Texas A&M equestrian senior Amanda Brightwell was the female recipient of the Bill Erwin Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award at the annual Texas A&M Athletics CHAMPS Banquet on Wednesday.

The award is named for longtime Texas A&M athletics supporter and local philanthropist Bill Erwin and is given to one male and one female student-athlete at A&M who are in their final year of athletic eligibility and have demonstrated outstanding academic and athletic performance.

Brightwell is a two-time National Collegiate Equestrian Association (NCEA) Academic All-American, and was also selected to the NCEA Academic Honor Roll this year. The horsemanship rider represents the Aggies on the 2013 Southeastern Conference (SEC) Community Service Team and is a team captain.

The San Antonio, Texas, native has also been competitive for the Aggies in the arena, ending her three-year career at A&M with a 24-15-3 (.607) record and taking honorable mention All-America honors as a junior.

The Aggie equestrian team also received a High Team GPA award for having a combined team GPA of 3.0 or higher. The team saw 52 riders earn Texas A&M Athletics Scholar Awards as well. To earn the honor, the student must be a student-athlete, manager or trainer participating on an intercollegiate athletics team during the last calendar year and must have a cumulative 3.00 GPA or a 3.00 GPA during that semester.

Highlighting the Texas A&M Athletics Scholar recipients were Carolyn Day, Courtney Kile, Kori Pickett, Elizabeth Solch, Laura Sumrall and Emily Williams, who achieved a perfect 4.0 semester GPA to be named Outstanding Athletics Scholars.

Texas A&M Athletics Scholars (Equestrian)
Kelsey Adams
Caroline Ammons
Randi Anderson
Annie Bean
Cassie Bell
Kristin Bell
Lindsey Bernbaum
Laura Brainard
Kayla Briel
Amanda Brightwell
Haley Buchmiller
Lia Chafee
Morgan Cleveland
Camilla Cook
Courtney Dawe
Carolyn Day*
Maggie Earle
Jennie Edwards
Abigail Grabein
Megan Gunther
Molli Jacobs
Hannah Jechow
Shelby Lawson
Mayers Lindley
Paige Linne
Katie Lisabeth
Cassie Mantor
Alyssa Martin
Lilly Milberger
Jordan Miller
Carey Nowacek
Jackie O’Connell
Kori Pickett*
Logan Pluhar
Paige Russell
Kimmy Saul
Darby Sherrod
Kelsi Shevlin
Ashley Skold
Hannah Soibelman
Elizabeth Solch*
Nancy Sorrell
Shelby St. Hilaire
Randi Standley
Laura Sumrall*
Megan Webb
Erica Whaley
Amanda Whitney
Ellie Wilkins
Brittany Williams
Emily Williams*

Equestrian Honors Riders at Annual Team Banquet
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad