Equestrian Facility 358x90
Article Image

No. 8 Aggie Equestrian to Defend National Titles at NCEA Championships

April 02, 2013
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The 11-time National Champion Texas A&M equestrian team will return to the National Collegiate Equestrian Association (NCEA) Championships to defend a pair of national titles, April 18-20 in Waco, Texas. The Aggie western squad is seeded sixth, while the hunter seat team is the No. 10 seed, the NCEA announced.

A&M is coming off of a National Championship season, winning both the western and overall titles last April. The four-time defending National Champion western squad has won nine total national titles, and the Aggies’ overall crown last year was the program’s second. The Aggie hunter seat squad was also a major contribution to the overall title after it battled from a No. 7 seeding in 2012 to reach the championship round after upsets of No. 2 seed South Carolina and No. 3 seed Georgia. A&M became the first school in NCEA history to place both teams in the championship round.

Quarterfinals in both disciplines are scheduled for April 18, with semifinals April 19 and the championship April 20. The championships are run in a bracket-style format by seed, much like that seen in college basketball. Each discipline crowns a team national champion with an overall national champion determined via point system.

Quarterfinal pairings are to be announced at a later date. Fans will be able to watch live streaming video of each event via the NCEA web site, starting with the opening ceremonies on April 17.


April 18-20 ● Extraco Events Center ● Waco, Texas



1.       Oklahoma State

2.       Kansas State

3.       Georgia

4.       TCU

5.       South Carolina

6.       Texas A&M

7.       South Dakota State

8.       Baylor

9.       Auburn

10.   Tennessee-Martin

11.   Fresno State

12.   New Mexico State



1.       Baylor

2.       South Carolina

3.       Georgia

4.       Auburn

5.       Texas Christian

6.       Southern Methodist

7.       Oklahoma State

8.       Kansas State

9.       Tennessee-Martin

10.   Texas A&M

11.   New Mexico State

12.   South Dakota State

Equestrian's Sumrall to Participate in NHRA Reining Championship
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad