Equestrian Facility 358x90
Article Image

Equestrian Celebrates Season at Annual Banquet

May 12, 2011
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

May 12, 2011

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - Texas A&M equestrian wrapped up another successful season over the weekend with the annual team banquet at the Zone Club at Kyle Field.

The team gave out most valuable player honors in each of the four disciplines, along with numerous individual awards.

Headlining the MVP winners was sophomore Emily Williams (Woodbine, Md.). Williams went 14-3 over fences this season, the most victories and highest winning percentage of any rider on the team.

MVP honors on the flat went to Hannah Soibelman (Evergreen, Colo.). The junior led the way with an 11-4-1 record, including a perfect 5-0 mark in the postseason.

Junior Abigail Grabein (Houston) claimed MVP honors in reining. Grabein went 11-4 on the year while claiming a discipline-high three most valuable rider awards.

Sophomore Carey Nowacek (San Antonio) was named MVP of the horsemanship squad. Nowacek posted an 11-3-1 record, with a team-high four most valuable rider awards, and ended the year with a six-show win streak on A&M's run to the western national championship.

The Aggie Heart Award, given to the team member who is a leader in community service and who puts the team ahead of herself both inside and outside the arena, was presented to junior Darby Sherrod (Conroe).

Senior western rider Randi Standley was presented with the inaugural Career Achivement Award. The Madisonville, Texas native was a mainstay in both western disciplines throughout her time in Aggieland. She competed a combined 108 times in horsemanship and reining, amassing 62 victories and four MVP awards.

The Best Under Pressure award was given to junior Lia Chafee (Little Compton, R.I.). Chafee, who competed in both fences and flat, led the entire hunter seat squad with 21 wins. She ranked among the team leaders in scoring average in both disciplines and took home a combined four MVP awards.

Other award winners were junior Amanda Brightwell (San Antonio) and freshman Leah Curtiss (Mobile, Ala.), who took home the Rookie of the Year awards in western and hunter seat, respectively.

The Most Improved awards went to junior Bianca Lamb (Bottineau, N.D.) in western and sophomore Kelsi Shevlin (Keller, Texas) in hunter seat.


The "Miss Aggie" award, given to the team member who most represents what it means to be an Aggie, went to sophomore Kori Pickett (Mount Airy, Md.).

Texas A&M won its third consecutive western national championship in 2011, the program's ninth overall. The Aggies also set a school record with a 12-1 mark, claimed their first-ever Big 12 Championship and earned the first No. 1 ranking in program history.


Most Valuable Riders
Emily Williams - Equitation over Fences
Hannah Soibelman - Equitation on the Flat
Carey Nowacek - Horsemanship
Abigail Grabein - Reining

Aggie Heart Award
Darby Sherrod

Career Achievement Award
Randi Standley

Best Under Pressure
Lia Chafee

Rookie of the Year
Leah Curtiss - Hunter Seat
Amanda Brightwell - Western

Most Improved
Kelsi Shevlin - Hunter Seat
Bianca Lamb - Western


Miss Aggie
Kori Pickett

Equestrian Honors Riders at Annual Team Banquet
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad