Article Image

Aggies Stand 12th at NCAAs

March 24, 2012
 | 
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)
SEATTLE --- Texas A&M finished day two at the 2012 NCAA Men's Swimming & Diving Championships in 12th place on Friday at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash.

The Aggies have scored 69 points through two days of competition, and trail California, Texas, Arizona, Stanford, Michigan, Auburn, Florida, USC, Louisville, Indiana and Ohio State in the team standings.
 
A&M's highlight of the day came in the final race of the day when the Aggies matched their highest NCAA finish ever in the 800-yard freestyle relay by placing 11th. The 2012 A&M relay of junior John Dalton, sophomore Paul-Marc Schweitzer, junior John Wagner and freshman Luke Shaw finished in 6:27.88 to match the 11th place finish by the 2001 Aggies at the NCAA Championships in College Station.
 
A&M opened the evening finals with a fourth-place finish in the consolation final (No. 12 overall) of the 200-yard medley relay. The foursome of senior John Ariens, senior Amini Fonua, senior Boris Loncaric and sophomore Kyle Troskot touched the wall in 1:27.18.
 
The Aggies also received points from Loncaric in the 100-yard butterfly. Loncaric placed sixth in the consolation final (No. 14 overall) while posting a time of 46.72.
 
Senior Grant Nel took 16th in the three-meter dive with a score of 375.80.
 
The final day of the 2012 Championships starts at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT with the prelims and finishes with the finals at 7 p.m. PT/9 p.m. CT.
Texas A&M signs 11 swimmers and divers
Get SEC Network
Texas A&M
Aggieland
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Case
Pepsi
Suddenlink
stop
Uploaded Ad