April 30, 2011

Texas A&M junior diver Grant Nel’s 2011 postseason dominance was recognized at the annual swimming and diving banquet on Saturday at the Hagner Auditorium on the A&M campus.
Nel received the Danny Green Team MVP Award after scoring a school record 50 points at the 2011 NCAA Championships with runner-up finishes in the one- and three-meter dives and a third-place finish in the platform dive. Nel broke the old record of 45 points at a single NCAA Championship set by fellow diver Eric Sehn at the 2007 national meet. Nel also contributed a Big 12 Championship in the one-meter dive, a runner-up finish on the three-meter and a third-place effort on the platform at conference.

With Nel leading the charge at the NCAA Championships, the Aggie swimmers and divers finished in 13th place at the national meet, which marked the team’s 16th straight top 25 finish at the event.
The Aggie Heart Award in Memory of Bob Stallings was given to senior Balazs Makany, who set school records in the 100- and 200-yard freestyles at the 2011 NCAA Championships and swam a leg on virtually every school record relay during his career.
The Most Improved Award went to sophomore John Dalton, who developed into one of the program’s fastest sprint freestylers in his second season in Aggieland. Dalton led the team in the 50-yard freestyle and was the team’s No. 2 entry in the 100- and 200-yard freestyles. He ranks No. 2 on A&M’s top 10 list in the 100 and 200 frees behind Makany.
The Trey Heye Memorial Award was given to sophomore Cheyne Hermes. The award is given annually to a non-scholarship swimmer or diver who came to A&M without a scholarship but proved himself with his work ethic, performance and teamwork. The Award is named for Trey Heye, who tragically passed away at age seven in 2000. The eldest son of Aggie graduates Paul ’87 and Mary Jo ’88 Heye of Little Rock, Ark., Trey was a talented swimmer who dreamed of swimming for the Aggies. Hermes ranked in the top four on the tea in both breaststroke races, and received special recognition for a 4.0 grade point average on the Big 12 Academic Team.
Swimmers John Ariens, John Dalton and Amini Fonua and diver Grant Nel were named team captains for the 2011-12 season.
School Records set in 2010-11
100 Free: Balazs Makany, 42.90
200 Free: Balazs Makany, 1:34.63
1,650 Free: Omar Enriquez, 15:06.23
200 Breast: Bryan Snowden, 1:56.66
400 free relay: Dalton, Makany, Lindau, Troskot, 2:52.49
800 free relay: Makany, Dalton, Enriquez, Schweitzer, 6:24.74
1m dive: Grant Nel, 426.00
3m dive: Grant Nel, 471.35
Platform: Grant Nel, 452.35
2010-11 Team Awards
Trey Heye Memorial Award:  Cheyne Hermes
Most Improved:  John Dalton
Danny Green MVP:  Grant Nel
Aggie Heart (In Memory of Bob Stallings):  Balazs Makany
2011-12 Team Captains: John Ariens, John Dalton, Amini Fonua, Grant Nel