COLLEGE STATION, TEXAS -- The 12th Man Foundation announced the recipients of the 2012 E. King Gill Award on Saturday, October 20.  A contingent from the 12th Man Foundation and Texas A&M Athletics leadership teams surprised Kay and Jerry Cox ’72 with the proclamation of the award at halftime of the Aggie football game versus LSU.

The award is presented each year by the 12th Man Foundation to honor those supporters who have generously helped the Foundation realize its mission of “Funding scholarships, programs and facilities in support of championship athletics.”

In addition, the E. King Gill Award recognizes those who have shown the commitment as a volunteer advocate of the athletic program through exemplary service and leadership while demonstrating a high level of distinction as a role model in career, service and ethics.

The honorees of this prestigious award are recognized on an engraved plaque in The Zone’s Stepp Grand Lobby, located just outside the 12th Man Foundation offices.
Kay and Jerry Cox have been the consummate Aggies over the years.  Jerry has been honored as a Distinguished Alumnus of Texas A&M, has served as president of the Texas A&M Foundation and was influential in the development of the Lowry Mays School of Business and the George Bush School of Government.  He served as president of the 12th Man Foundation in 1996 and was instrumental in developing the plan for The Zone addition to the north end of Kyle Field. He was inducted into the Texas A&M Athletics Hall of Honor in September of 2008.

With their vision and generosity, Kay and Jerry have helped to make several athletics facilities a reality including the Cox-McFerrin Center for Aggie Basketball and the Kay and Jerry Cox Diamond Club at Blue Bell Park.

“Kay and Jerry Cox continue to support Aggie athletics at the highest level and inspire others to do so as well.  As the volunteer chairs of the Championship Vision Capital Campaign and the Olsen Field Campaign, they were instrumental in improving our competitive position as we entered the SEC” said interim President of the 12th Man Foundation Stu Starner.  “Their impact on the Aggie student-athlete experience and the future of Texas A&M athletics has been profound”.

Past recipients:
Carolyn & Jack Little ’60
Col. George J. Eppright ’26 (posthumous)