Article Image

Aggie Tennis Selected for Three Matches on College Match Day

February 04, 2014
 | 
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

COLLEGE STATION – The USTA announced that College Match Day, the nationwide series spotlighting college tennis, will feature both the nationally ranked Texas A&M men’s and women’s teams during the spring season. Match Day will visit Aggieland on Friday, March 28, when the men’s team welcomes the third-ranked Georgia Bulldogs while the women will be featured on Feb. 28 at Florida and March 19 at Baylor.

 College Match Day is a weekly series highlighting marquee team matches featuring the best programs, players and coaches around the country. In addition to the ESPN3 coverage, eight College Match Days will feature a 53-foot, interactive Fan Experience trailer on site, where fans can engage in a number of activities before and during the match.

Every Match Day that will be live streamed will follow a unique, experimental format, as proposed by an advisory group of NCAA Division I athletic directors: all six singles matches will be played first, best of three tiebreak sets, with each singles match worth one point toward the team total (four points are required to win the team match). Once one team reaches four points and clinches the match, the remaining matches will not be completed. In the case of a 3-3 tie after the singles matches, three doubles matches – played using 10-point super tiebreakers – will be used to determine the winner in what amounts to college tennis’ version of “overtime.” The team that wins two of the three doubles matches wins the team match. All Match Day dual matches will count toward each team’s win-loss record both overall and, if applicable, in conference. For Match Days that will not be live streamed, the participating teams will not be held to the same, experimental format.

Texas A&M is one of 13 teams with both men’s and women’s programs currently ranked in the Top 25 and joins Georgia, UCLA and Southern Cal as the only schools with both teams ranked in the Top 10. To learn more about the men’s and women’s tennis teams, visit AggieAthletics.com.

2014 College Match Day Schedule

(All times Central)

Men's College Match Day Schedule

   

Oklahoma at Florida State

Fri., Feb. 7

TBD

Arkansas at Tulsa

Fri., Feb. 14

6 p.m.

Ball State at Notre Dame

Sat., Feb. 22

5 p.m.

Texas at TCU

Sat., March 1

1 p.m.

DePaul at Purdue

Wed., March 5

TBD

Pepperdine at Illinois

Fri., March 14

5 p.m.

Howard at North Carolina Central

Sat., March 15

10 a.m.

Virginia at Duke

Sun., March 23

1 p.m.

Georgia at Texas A&M

Fri., March 28

6 p.m.

Arkansas at Georgia

Fri., April 4

4 p.m.

Bethune Cookman at Florida A&M

Sat., April 5

9 a.m.

North Carolina State at Virginia

Fri., April 11

2 p.m.

     

Women's College Match Day Schedule

 

LSU at Florida State

Sat., Feb. 8

11 a.m.

Oregon at Minnesota

Sun., Feb. 16

11 a.m.

North Carolina State at North Carolina

Sun., Feb. 23

Noon

Texas A&M at Florida

Fri., Feb. 28

4 p.m.

Oklahoma at Oklahoma State

Sun., March 9

1 p.m.

Texas A&M at Baylor

Wed., March 19

5 p.m.

Florida at Alabama

Sun., March 23

1 p.m.

Northwestern at Duke

Wed., March 26

2 p.m.

Missouri at Georgia

Sun., March 30

Noon

Nebraska at Illinois

Sun., April 13

Noon

Adams Falls at USTA/ITA National Indoors
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Case
Pepsi
Suddenlink
stop
Uploaded Ad