May 15, 2011


Earning a 10th-consecutive and 22nd-overall NCAA Tournament berth, the 18th-ranked Texas A&M softball team will host the College Station Regional May 20-22 as the No. 16 seed at the Aggie Softball Complex.

The Aggies (41-13) garnered an at-large bid and will host Sacred Heart (29-19) at 7 p.m. on Friday. Louisiana State (38-16) will face Syracuse (44-11) prior to the A&M-SHU game at 4 p.m.

The Pioneers were automatic qualifiers after capturing the Northeast Conference title. The Orange also received an automatic qualification after winning a second-consecutive Big East Championship, while the Tigers claimed an at-large bid.

“We’re thrilled to host,” head coach Jo Evans said. “Obviously it’s our goal at the beginning of the year to play the kind of schedule that allows us to compete and be able to host a regional. Playing at home and having the 12th Man in the stands is a great home field advantage that we’re excited to have. This is a great field of teams and each of them deserves to be in the postseason. We’re looking forward to some tough competition at home.”

The Big 12 led the nation with eight teams in the championship. The SEC and Pac-10 each placed seven teams, while Conference USA sent five.

The Division I softball championship sets a field of 64 teams. Thirty conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 34 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally.

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition, when possible.

The regional winners advance to super regional competition for a best-of-three series May 27-28 at eight campus sites. The remaining eight teams advance to the WCWS, an eight-team, double-elimination tournament. The championship final will be a best-of-three-series. The WCWS will be conducted June 2-8 at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City.

All of Texas A&M's postseason games will be broadcast live on Sports Radio 1150 The Zone. More information on tickets will be announced later this week on

NCAA College Station Regional
Friday, May 20
Game 1: LSU vs. Syracuse – 4 p.m.
Game 2: No. 16 Texas A&M vs. Sacred Heart – 7 p.m.

Saturday, May 21 
Game 3: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner – 1 p.m.
Game 4: Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser – 4 p.m.
Game 5: Game 4 winner vs. Game 3 loser – 7 p.m.

Sunday, May 22
Game 6: Game 3 winner vs. Game 5 winner – 1 p.m.
Game 7: Rematch if necessary - :30 after Game 6