Track & Field
9th (W), 2nd (M)
Article Image

A&M men win HBU Invitational, Aggie women place second

October 11, 2013
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

HOUSTON – Texas A&M won the men’s title and finished second in the women’s race during the Houston Baptist Invitational held Friday evening at the St. Agnes Athletic Complex.

Scoring 20 points garnered the men’s team title as adjusted scoring had the Aggies producing places 2-3-4-5-6 among its first five runners. Houston Baptist, led by individual winner Matt Perri (15:04), placed second with 45 points while Texas Southern finished third with 101 points.

“I’m very pleased with both races,” said Texas A&M assistant coach Wendel McRaven. “The men were nearly perfect in executing our race plan. It was great seeing our top four out there just rolling along together. It was a great team race.”

Baylor claimed the women’s team title with 31 points (2-3-4-6-16) while Texas A&M turned in a score of 55 points (7-9-12-13-14) for runner-up honors. Houston Baptist finished third with 68 points while Nicholls State placed fourth with 107.

Jake Roberts led the A&M men’s crew, running 15:29 on the 5,000-meter course that featured a 1,000-meter loop. Roberts placed fifth in the race behind Perri and a pair of runners from Monterrey Tech – Jesus Esparza (15:09) and Jose Esparza (15:12) – along with Aggie teammate Colin Slattery (15:27), who raced unattached.

Finishing in a tight group behind Roberts were four more Aggies, which included Alex Riba (15:31), Micah Dettmer (15:31), Ryan Miller (15:33) and Aaron Murray (15:40) in places 6-7-8-9. The scoring group was separated by just 11 seconds.

“Jake Roberts is just starting to scratch the surface as to how good he can be,” noted McRaven. “It was also great to see Alex Riba in the mix. He wasn't afraid to lead our pack and I think he is on his way. Dettmer and Miller are veterans in there. Miller is coming off a little injury that kept him out of the Louisville meet. This was a chance for him to get back into racing mode.”

Johanna Galloway covered the women’s 5,000-meter course in 18:36 to lead the A&M women as she placed 10th overall and was seventh in the adjusted scoring. Meredith Gleitz finished the race in 18:44 to place second among the Aggie group, taking 12th overall and ninth in adjusted scoring.

Johanna Galloway

“The great thing about Galloway and Gleitz leading the way for the women is the fact that they are probably the two of the most-improved women on the team,” added McRaven.

Then a trio of runners completed the A&M scoring five as Heather Sterling (18:57), Ashley Chamberlain (19:01) and Katie Pia (19:03) finished 15-16-17 overall and 12-13-14 in adjusted scoring.

Post collegians Lauren Smith (17:33) and Cate Westenhover (17:33) battled for the individual women’s victory, with Smith having the edge at the finish line. Julieta Bautista of Monterrey Tech (17:52) and Tessni Carruther of Nicholls State (18:03) were the top two collegians.

Elliott Farris (15:46) was the sixth finisher for the A&M men, placing 12th, while Dylan Williams (16:12) finished as the seventh runner for the Aggies in 17th place. Also competing for A&M in the race were Dillon Worley (29th, 16:43), Nathan Ricketts (36th, 17:08) and Bobby Zeller (38th, 17:11).

The Aggie women’s sixth runner was Eva Vigh (19:13) in 19th place followed by the tandem of Rachel Williams (19:17) and Haley Deakins (19:19) in 21st and 22nd place. Rounding out the A&M women’s crew were Lauren Fontana (24th, 19:25), Caitlin Gilmore (26th, 19:26), Sara Shaw (33rd, 19:45), and Emily Willingham (38th, 20:09).



Women Team Scores:

1. Baylor, 31; 2. Texas A&M, 55; 3. Houston Baptist, 68; 4. Nicholls State, 107; 5. Prairie View, 134; 6. Texas Southern, 175; 7. Southern, 179.

A&M Individual Women (5,000 meters)

10. Johanna Galloway, 18:36; 12. Meredith Gleitz, 18:44; 15. Heather Sterling, 18:57; 16. Ashley Chamberlain, 19:01; 17. Katie Pia, 19:03; 19. Eva Vigh, 19:13; 21. Rachel Williams, 19:17; 22. Haley Deakins, 19:19; 24. Lauren Fontana, 19:25; 26. Caitlin Gilmore, 19:26; 33. Sara Shaw, 19:45; 38. Emily Willingham, 20:09.

Men Team Scores:

1. Texas A&M, 20; 2. Houston Baptist, 45; 3. Texas Southern, 101; 4. Prairie View, 106; 5. Nicholls State, 132; 6. Southern, 140.

A&M Individual Men (5,000 meters)

5. Jake Roberts, 15:29; 6. Alex Riba, 15:31; 7. Micah Dettmer, 15:31; 8. Ryan Miller, 15:33; 9. Aaron Murray, 15:40; 12. Elliott Farris, 15:46; 17. Dylan Williams, 16:12; 29. Dillon Worley, 16:43; 36. Nathan Ricketts, 17:08; 38. Bobby Zeller, 17:11.

SEC Athlete of the Year honors for Deon Lendore, Ioannis Kyriazis
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad