Track & Field
9th (W), 2nd (M)
Article Image

The Bowerman semifinalist include A&M's Wayne Davis II & Sam Humphreys

June 17, 2013
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

NEW ORLEANS – Texas A&M national champions Wayne Davis II and Sam Humphreys were both among the list of 10 athletes named as semifinalists for The Bowerman award by the USTFCCCA on Monday. Both Aggies were undefeated by collegians in their respective events during the outdoor campaign and each had performances that ranked among the collegiate best for this season as well as on all-time lists.

The Bowerman, which made its debut in 2009, is presented annually by the United States Track and Field Cross Country Coaches Association to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track and field athletes in the nation.

Humphreys became the first javelin thrower to score four consecutive years at the NCAA Championships since the late 1970s and the first Aggie thrower to achieve the feat at the NCAA Outdoor meet. In winning the 2013 NCAA Championship with a mark of 255-9 (77.95), Humphreys bettered the two-time defending javelin champion, Tim Glover of Illinois State, by eight feet.

Opening the season with a 267-1 (81.40) in mid-March, Humphreys became the U.S. and collegiate leader while notching the No. 10 mark on the collegiate all-time list. Later in the season Humphreys improved his school record mark to 268-8 (81.90) during the NCAA West preliminary round, moving to No. 7 on the collegiate all-time list.

During his senior campaign Humphreys recorded his third victory at the Texas Relays over the past four seasons and claimed a fourth consecutive conference championship as he added the SEC title to the three Big 12 titles he won. Humphreys throw of 257-1 (78.36) to win the SEC broke a 10-year-old stadium record at Columbia, Missouri, bettered the field by 22 feet, and was the third best winning mark since 1984.

Davis placed first in nine races this outdoor season over the 110 hurdles, including prelims and finals. His first race back to action following an injury that knocked him out of action for a month had Davis placing second to Olympic champion and world record holder Aries Merritt during the LSU Alumni Gold Invitational.

In winning the NCAA Championship title with a wind-aided 13.14, Davis recorded the second fastest time in the history of the national championships, trailing only a 12.91w mark set by Renaldo Nehemiah in 1979. Under all-conditions, Davis moved to No. 2 performer on the all-time collegiate list with the third fastest performance.

His 13.14 is the collegiate leader for 2013 under all-conditions and is the fastest time ever recorded by an Aggie hurdler. Davis shares the A&M school record with Larry Wade with a 13.37.

After placing second in the 60 hurdles indoors at both the SEC and NCAA Championships with career best times of 7.65 and 7.59, Davis opened the outdoor campaign over 110 hurdles with a 13.54 victory at Arizona State.

A month later, he clocked 13.65 as the runner-up to Merritt (13.37) at LSU. Then a Penn Relays victory in 13.67 preceded Davis’ win at SEC, with a season legal-wind best of 13.45. Running a 13.27w at the NCAA West preliminary round in Austin made Davis the No. 1 seed heading into Eugene.

The NCAA semifinal at Hayward field had Davis clocking a windy 13.25 to win his heat and he advanced to the final with the second best time behind a 13.24w from Clemson’s Spencer Adams.

In the final, held on the last day of the NCAA Championships, Davis was flanked by Adams and Florida’s Eddie Lovett, who had claimed the indoor SEC and NCAA 60H titles. A strong start by Davis and a clean race over the hurdles produced his time of 13.14 as he bettered the field by 0.18 of a second with Lovett second in 13.32 and Adams third at 13.34.  

Also named among the 10 semifinalists for The Bowerman Award were Derek Drouin, Indiana (high jump); Johannes Hock, Texas (decathlon); Sam Kendricks, Mississippi (pole vault); Erik Kynard, Kansas State (high jump); Lawi Lalang, Arizona (distance); Bryshon Nellum, USC (sprints); Charles Silmon, TCU (sprints); and Julian Wruck, UCLA (discus).

Jochen earns academic honor, Aggies recognized for service
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad