June 21, 2011

COLLEGE STATION - Accolades for the Texas A&M track and field from accomplishing their unprecedented third national championship double included USTFCCCA Coach of the Year honors for Aggie head coach Pat Henry along with a visit to the Texas State Capitol for members of the A&M team and staff.

In addition CoSIDA announced members of the Capital One Academic All-America men's track and field team and Aggie junior Will Barry was selected to the second team.

The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Tuesday that Henry swept the National Coach of the Year honors in outdoor track and field. It's the third consecutive year for Henry to earn both the men and women's honor.

In his seventh season at Texas A&M, Henry has claimed six of his 33 national team championships over the past three years. In a career that has spanned 24 years on the NCAA Division I level between LSU and A&M, Henry is third among all-time national titles as a NCAA head coach and is the leader for indoor and outdoor track and field national titles.

Kenyon College's Jim Steen has 50 NCAA titles in Division III swimming and diving, while Arkansas's John McDonnell collected 40 NCAA titles between cross country (11) and track and field (29).

Texas A&M won the men's title by one point over Florida State by winning the final event of the meet, the 4 x 400 relay in 3:00.62. The Aggies had 12 scoring performances in the NCAA meet. The season also included a conference record of 175 points as A&M claimed its first Big 12 title since 2001.

For the Aggie women a win over Oregon in the final event was needed to claim the team title. A school record of 3:26.31 by A&M sealed the team victory by four points over the Ducks. The relay effort was capped with a NCAA meet record split of 49.13 seconds by Jessica Beard, who also won her first NCAA Outdoor individual title in the 400 meters with a winning time of 51.10.

In conference action the Aggie women claimed a fifth consecutive championship with 146 points, topping Nebraska by 27 points.

State Capitol Visit

On Monday afternoon members of the Texas A&M national championship teams visited the Senate and the House of Representatives at the State Capitol as resolutions and speakers congratulated the Aggies on their historic accomplishments.

Senator Steve Ogden, who authored the resolution, introduced the team in the Senate while additional speakers included Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr., Senator Leticia Van de Putte and Senator Glenn Hegar.

In the House the resolution was co-authored by Representative Dawnna Dukes and Representative Ryan Guillen, while Representative Paul Workman made the introduction.

Members of the Texas A&M national championship teams were escorted to the Senate floor first and then to the floor of the House of Representatives for the reading of the resolutions and comments were added from several Senators and Representatives.

Representing the Aggies were athletes Donique' Flemings, Prezel Hardy, Jr., Tran Howell, Emalie Humphreys, Sam Humphreys, Bryan Miller, Gerald Phiri, Michael Preble, Natasha Ruddock and Jeneba Tarmoh.

Members of the A&M coaching staff included head coach Juan De La Garza, Alleyne Francique, and Jim VanHootegem. The staff also included team administrator Brian Bancroft along with volunteer coaches Mike Bina and Zach Glavash.

An archive of videos for both the Senate and House can be found through this link: http://www.senate.state.tx.us/avarchive/?yr=2011.

CoSIDA Academic Honor

Barry was among 15 student-athletes named to the second team of the Capital One Academic All-America. In his major of Civil Engineering, Barry has produced a 4.0 grade point average and he received the R. Jones, Jr. Memorial Scholarship, one of the most difficult to obtain and hold at Texas A&M.

A two-time Academic All-Big 12 selection, Barry was one of six Aggies to earn the inaugural Dr. Gerald Lage Awards, the Big 12 conference's highest academic honor.

On the track, Barry set a personal best of 3:48.70 to qualify for the final of the 1,500 meters at the Big 12 Championships. He finished ninth in the final with a 3:50.66, his second fastest time over the distance.