Track & Field
9th (W), 2nd (M)
Article Image

Aggies total 36 All-America honors from NCAA Championships

June 11, 2013
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

NEW ORLEANS – The national champion Texas A&M men and NCAA runner-up Aggie women combined for 36 All-America honors from the NCAA Championship meet.

The Aggie men and women each had nine athletes earn first team All-America honors for placing in the top eight during the NCAA Championships in Eugene. Texas A&M totaled 10 medalists in the national championships – four gold, four silver and two bronze.

Each of the 2013 gold medalist for the Aggies – Wayne Davis II (110 hurdles), Sam Humphreys (javelin), Ameer Webb (200m) and the women’s 4x100 relay – were silver medalist in 2012 and returned to claim victories.

The nine A&M men totaled 12 honors with Henry Lelei, Deon Lendore and Ameer Webb each securing a pair of All-America honors. First team honors were also awarded to Ricky Babineaux, Aldrich Bailey, Jr., Wayne Davis II, Sam Humphreys, Carlyle Roudette and Dalton Rowan.

Lelei has seven All-America honors as an Aggie while Davis and Webb have six each with Lendore now totaling five.

In clocking a wind-aided 13.14 Davis posted the fastest winning time in the NCAA 110 hurdle final, under all conditions, since Renaldo Nehemiah won with a windy 12.91 (3.5 wind) in 1979. The wind in the race for Davis measured 3.8 meters per second. In 2011 Davis placed sixth with a 13.60 that had a 3.6 tailwind, while in 2012 he finished second running another 13.60, but this time into a -3.5 headwind.

The winning margin of 0.18 by Davis in this year’s final is the fourth best margin of victory since Nehemiah won by 0.64 in the 1979 final. Others ahead of Davis include a 0.28 for Aries Merritt (Tennessee) in 2006, as well as 0.22 for Ronnie Ash (Oklahoma) in 2009 and Greg Foster (UCLA) in 1980.

Humphreys became the first javelin thrower to score four consecutive years at the NCAA Outdoor Championships since Phil Olsen of Tennessee (1975 to 1978) and Scott Sorchik of Nebraska (1974 to 1977).

In scoring 28 points over his four-year career, Humphreys was part of three national championship teams at Texas A&M. He placed fifth (4 points) as a freshman in 2010, third (6 pts) in 2011, second (8 pts) in 2012 and won the 2013 NCAA title (10 pts).

Webb became the first since 2007 to win both 200m titles in the same season, claiming the NCAA Indoor and Outdoor championships that Walter Dix of Florida State last achieved.

The nine Aggie women totaled 14 honors with Kamaria Brown earning three All-America honors. Three more A&M women – Olivia Ekponé, LaQue Moen-Davis and LaKeidra Stewart – earned a pair of All-America honors.

Also receiving first team All-America honors were Ashley Collier, Donique’ Flemings, Jennifer Madu, Ibukun Mayungbe, and Ashton Purvis.

In two seasons with the Aggies, Brown now has eight All-America honors. That ties her for the fifth most honors all-time at Texas A&M with Adrien Sawyer, Gabby Mayo and Dominique Duncan. Career totals of six All-America honors are held by Flemings, Mayungbe and Ekponé while Collier now has five honors.

Brown’s busy Saturday at the NCAA Championships included running the third leg of the winning 4x100 relay, finishing second in the 200 meters with the fastest time (22.21w) in school history under all conditions, and anchoring the 4x400 to a runner-up finish with a split of 50.27 that ranks No. 10 all-time in the NCAA Championships.

Moen-Davis became the first Aggie female jumper to score in both the NCAA long jump and triple jump in the same year. Her eighth place in the long jump marked the first point for A&M in that event at the NCAA Outdoor meet since 2006. Moen-Davis was also the third freshman to place third for the Aggies in the triple jump.

Eight Aggies, four per gender, totaled 10 second team All-America honors for placing between ninth and 16th at the NCAA meet. Prezel Hardy, Jr. and Ashton Purvis earned honors in both the 100 and 200 meters. Also receiving second team All-America honors were Devin Bogert, Gregory Coleman, Dave Brown, Collier, Ekponé and Jena Hemann.

Aggies recognized for honorable mention included Michael Bryan, in the 100 and 200 meters, Ricky Babineaux, Hector Hernandez, Josh Hernandez, Isaac Spencer, Annie Kunz, Madu and Kendall Munoz.


MEN (12 honors, 9 athletes)

Ricky Babineaux – 4x400

Aldrich Bailey, Jr. – 4x400

Wayne Davis II – 110 hurdles

Sam Humphreys – Javelin

Henry Lelei – Steeplechase, 5,000m

Deon Lendore – 400, 4x400

Carlyle Roudette – 4x400

Dalton Rowan – Discus

Ameer Webb – 100, 200

WOMEN (14 honors, 9 athletes)

Kamaria Brown – 200, 4x100, 4x400

Ashley Colliler – 4x100

Olivia Ekponé – 200, 4x400

Donique’ Flemings – 100 hurdles

Jennifer Madu – 100

Ibukun Mayungbe – 4x400

LaQue Moen-Davis – Long jump, Triple jump

Ashton Purvis – 4x100

LaKeidra Stewart – 4x100, 4x400


MEN (5 honors, 4 athletes)

Devin Bogert – Javelin

Gregory Coleman – 400 hurdles

Dave Brown – Triple jump

Prezel Hardy, Jr. – 100, 200

WOMEN (5 honors, 4 athletes)

Ashley Collier – 100

Olivia Ekponé – 100

Jena Hemann – Heptathlon

Ashton Purvis – 100, 200


MEN (5 honors, 5 athletes)

Ricky Babineaux – 400

Michael Bryan – 100, 200

Hector Hernandez – 800

Josh Hernandez – 800

Isaac Spencer – Steeplechase

WOMEN (3 honors, 3 athletes)

Annie Kunz – Heptathlon

Jennifer Madu – Triple jump

Kendall Munoz – Javelin

Jochen earns academic honor, Aggies recognized for service
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad