Article Image

Aggies Ranked No. 4 in CSCAA Top 25

November 01, 2012
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)
PHOENIX, Ariz. --- The Texas A&M women's swimming and diving team was ranked No. 4 in the first NCAA Women's Div. I Rankings of 2012-13, which were released by the College Swim Coaches Association of America (CSCAA).

Head coach Steve Bultman's Aggies are already 3-0 in dual meets with road wins over No. 10 North Carolina, South Carolina and SMU. A&M will have a big challenge on Friday when the Aggies take on No. 11 Florida in Gainesville, Fla.

The Aggies return 21 letterwinners from last year when they won the Big 12 Championship and finished in the top 10 nationally for the sixth straight year with a sixth-place finish at the NCAA Championships. Eight of the 21 returnees competed at the NCAA Championships in 2012, including two swimmers that went on to reach the finals at the London Olympic Games in juniors Breeja Larson and Cammile Adams. Larson also set the NCAA, American and U.S. Open record in the 100-yard breaststroke while winning the individual crown in the race at the NCAA Championships, and Adams was the NCAA runner-up for the second straight season in the 200 butterfly.

Veterans of last year's NCAA team in addition to Larson and Adams are seniors Maureen McLaine, Tess Simpson and Rebecca St. Germain, and juniors Erica Dittmer, Caroline McElhany and Paige Miller. Also rejoining A&M's active roster are redshirt sophomores Lili Ibanez and Sarah Henry, who both missed last year's collegiate season due to injury but were back to form last summer. Ibanez represented Mexico in the London Olympics, while Henry earned a spot on the U.S. squad at the 2013 World University Games with five top eight finishes, including a win in the 200 IM, at the U.S. Open Championships.

NCAA Division 1 Women's Swimming and Diving Ranking as of October 31, 2012
1. Southern California (2-0, Pac 12 1-0)
2. Georgia (3-0, SEC 2-0)
3. California (2-0, Pac 12 1-0)
4. Texas A&M (3-0, SEC 1-0)
T5 Auburn (3-0, SEC 2-0)
T5 Stanford (1-0, Pac 12 0-0)
7. Texas (2-0, Big 12 0-0)
8. Tennessee (4-0, SEC 1-0)
9. Arizona (4-0, Pac 12 1-0)
10. North Carolina (2-1, ACC 1-0)
11. Florida (1-1, SEC 1-1)
12. Minnesota (4-0, Big Ten 2-0)
13. Indiana (2-2, Big Ten 1-0)
14. Virginia (2-0, ACC 0-0)
15. UCLA (3-0, Pac 12 2-0)
16. Arizona State (2-0, Pac 12 1-0)
17. LSU (4-1, SEC 1-1)
18. Notre Dame (0-1, Big East 0-0)
19. Louisville (1-1, Big East 0-0)
20. Michigan (1-3, Big Ten 1-2)
21. Arkansas (3-1, SEC 2-1)
22. Florida State (7-0, ACC 3-0)
23. Wisconsin (3-2, Big Ten 1-2)
24. Purdue(1-0, Big Ten 0-0)
25. San Diego State (2-0, Mountain West 1-0)
Also receiving votes: Missouri, Virginia Tech, Penn State, West Virginia, Kansas, Ohio State, UNLV, NC State

Neubert, Gibson named to Academic All-District Team
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad