Article Image

Aggies Earn Four Big 12 Awards

April 06, 2012
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

The Texas A&M women's swimming and diving team earned four Big 12 accolades to cap the 2011-2012 season, the Big 12 conference announced Friday. 

Sophomore Breeja Larson was voted the women's Big 12 Swimmer of the Year, senior Jaele Patrick was voted Women's Big 12 Diver of the Year, Jay Lerew was voted Women's Diving Coach of the Year and Head coach Steve Bultman was awarded the Women's Swimming Coach of the Year. 

Larson, from Mesa, Ariz., earns her first Big 12 Swimmer of the Year award after breaking the NCAA, U.S. Open and American records in the 100-yard breaststroke event at the 2012 NCAA Championship meet with a time of 57.71. Larson also finished third overall in the 200-yard breaststroke event. 

Patrick, from Lilydale, Victoria, Australia, earned her second recognition as Big 12 Diver of the Year just after being awarded the Diver of the Meet at the 2012 NCAA Championships. Patrick took first at the NCAA meet in the 3-meter springboard event with a score of 410.15, as she became the first Aggie diver to win a NCAA diving gold. 

Lerew also earns his second Big 12 Diving Coach of the Year award after leading two of his senior divers, Patrick and Janie Potvin, to a combined four Top-10 finishes at NCAAs. Lerew also was awarded the NCAA Diving Coach of the Meet and Big 12 Diving Coachof the Meet this season. 

Bultman was named Coach of the Year for the fourth time in the Big 12 after coaching A&M to its sixth Top-10 NCAA finish and fourth Big 12 title. Bultman also earned his eighth Big 12 Swimming Coach of the Meet at the 2012 Big 12 Championship meet as well this season. 

Neubert, Gibson named to Academic All-District Team
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad