March 1, 2011

NCAA Qualifier List Get Acrobat Reader

The Texas A&M women's swimming and diving team qualified 15 swimmers to the 2011 NCAA Championships, which was the highest number of competitors from any single school at the national meet.

The Aggies led the way with 15, which was trailed by Georgia with 14, Florida, Indiana, USC and Cal with 13, Minnesota with 12, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Arizona and Auburn with 11 and North Carolina with 10.

Advancing to the NCAA Championships are: seniors Hannah Kinder, Lindsey King and Maria Sommer, juniors Alyssa Conner and Rita Medrano, sophomores Kendra Chernoff, Maureen McLaine and Tess Simpson, and freshmen Cammile Adams, Erica Dittmer, Sarah Henry, Lili Ibañez, Breeja Larson, Paige Miller and Kim Pavlin.

All five of the Aggies' relays were invited, and several Aggies were seeded in the top eight: Henry (No. 7 in 400 IM), Ibanez (No. 7 in the 200 free), Miller (No. 6 in 100 back), Larson (No. 5 in 200 breast, No. 6 in the 100 breast), Adams (No. 3 in 200 fly), Medrano (No. 8 in 200 fly),

Texas A&M's total at the national meet could also be boosted with several divers after the NCAA Zone D Diving Regional March 11-13 in Austin. The Aggies have three divers competing for a NCAA berth at the diving regional: juniors Janie Potvin, Jo Thibodaux and Lorena Lujan.