2015 NSD
Article Image

Johnny Manziel Selected as Heisman Trophy Winner

December 08, 2012
Courtesy: Kelly Kline/Heisman Trust
(photo: Kelly Kline/Heisman Trust)
NEW YORK (Heisman Trust) - Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M University was selected as the 78th winner of the Heisman Memorial Trophy as the Outstanding College Football Player in the United States for 2012.

Anne Donahue, of the Heisman Trophy Trust, which annually presents the Heisman Memorial Trophy Award, announced the selection of Manziel on Saturday evening, December 8th, on a nationally televised ESPN sports special live from the Best Buy Theater in Times Square.

The victory for the 6'1", 200-poung Manziel represents the second winner from Texas A&M and the first since 1957 (John David Crow). Manziel is the 33rd quarterback to receive the award, and also the first Freshman to win the award.

Manziel, of Kerrville, TX, has completed 273 of his 400 passes this year, for 3,419 yards and 24 touchdowns while throwing only 8 interceptions. Additionally, he has rushed 184 times for 1,181 net yards (6.4 yards per carry) with 19 rushing touchdowns. Manziel broke the SEC record with 4,600 yards of total offense (previously held by 2010 Heisman winner Cam Newton). While leading the Aggies to a 10-2 regular season record and an appearance in the January 4, 2013 AT&T Cotton Bowl against Oklahoma, Manziel was named the SEC's Freshman of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year. Manziel was also awarded the Davey O'Brien Award given to the nation's top quarterback.

Ballots were emailed to 870 media personnel across the nation plus 57 Heisman winners and one fan ballot, for a total of 928 electors. The ballots were received and tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP. Manziel polled 2,029 points to capture the award over Manti Te'o of Notre Dame (1,706), and Collin Klein of Kansas State (894 points). The point total is reached by a system of three points for a first place vote, two for a second and one for a third.

Johnny Manziel will officially be honored at the 78th annual Heisman Memorial Trophy Dinner Gala on Monday evening, December 10th at the Marriot Marquis in New York.

A&Mís Matthews, Garrett named preseason All-Americans
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad