2015 NSD
Article Image

Manziel, Moore Named Semifinalists by Maxwell FC

October 29, 2012
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)
PHILADELPHIA --- Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel and Damontre Moore were named semifinalists for national awards administered by the Maxwell Football Club, the organization's National Selection Committee announced on Monday.

Manziel was named a semifinalist for the 76th Maxwell Award, which is given to the nation's outstanding player, while Moore was named a semifinalist for the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award, which honors the nation's top defensive player.

Manziel, a five-time Southeastern Conference Freshman of the Week honoree, has broken the SEC's total offense record twice in the first eight games of his career, and leads the SEC in rushing (99.1), total offense (376.1 yards per game), scoring (9.8 points per game) and points responsibility (21.8).

Moore, in his first season at defensive end after two seasons at linebacker, ranks among the national leaders in sacks (10.5) and tackles for loss (18.0). With 65 tackles, he leads the Aggies and ranks as the nation's top defensive line tackler.

Joining Manziel on the Maxwell list were Wisconsin RB Montee Ball, USC QB Matt Barkley, Oregon RB Kenjon Barner, North Carolina RB Giovani Bernard, UCLA RB Johnathan Franklin, Florida RB Mike Gillislee, Georgia LB Jarvis Jones, Kansas State QB Collin Klein, USC WR Marqise Lee, Florida State QB EJ Manuel, Alabama QB AJ McCarron, Ohio State QB Braxton Miller, West Virginia QB Geno Smith, Notre Dame LB Manti Te'o and Oregon RB De'Anthony Thomas.

Joining Moore on the Bednarik list were Mississippi State DB Johnthan Banks, Kansas State LB Arthur Brown, South Carolina DE Jadevon Clowney, Florida DB Matt Elam, Rutgers LB Khaseem Greene, Ohio State DL Johnathan Hankins, Jones from Georgia, Utah DL Star Lotulelei, Alabama DB Dee Milliner, LSU LB Sam Montgomery, Alabama LB C.J. Mosley, Oregon State DB Jordan Poyer, Arizona State DL Will Sutton, Te'o of Notre Dame and Florida State DL Bjoern Werner.

The winners of the 76th Maxwell Award and the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be broadcast on ESPN on December 6, 2012. Three finalists for each award will be announced on November 19, 2012 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Gala which will be held on Friday, March 1, 2013 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey. Semifinalist voting for both of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Tuesday, October 30th and close on Sunday November 18th. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.

A&Mís Matthews, Garrett named preseason All-Americans
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad