April 25, 2011

INDIANAPOLIS --- The Texas A&M women’s golf team will continue its quest for a return trip to the NCAA Championships at the 2011 NCAA West Regional at the University of Washington’s Washington National Golf Club in Auburn, Wash., the NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Committee announced on Monday.
The Aggies, who are coming off a runner-up finish at the Big 12 Championships last weekend, were seeded ninth at the West Regional, which will be contested May 5-7. The top eight teams at each of the three regionals will earn spots in the 2011 NCAA Div. I Women’s Golf Championships, which will be hosted by Texas A&M and the Traditions Golf Club May 18-21.
“We are very excited about going to Washington for regionals,” Aggie head coach Trelle McCombs said. “I think the course is a perfect set up for our game. We are playing well at the right time. It should be a fun ride ahead. Getting back to Aggieland is our goal but we have to take it one day at a time.”
The Aggies were one of 24 teams sent to the West Regional, and were seeded behind top-ranked USC, No. 6 Virginia, No. 7 Arizona, No. 12 Georgia, No. 13 Tennessee, No. 19 Pepperdine, No. 15 Iowa State and No. 23 UC Davis. Seven Big 12 teams and one individual advanced to regional play with Oklahoma and Baylor’s Chelsey Cothran joining A&M and Iowa State in the west regional; Colorado and Texas Tech being sent to the East Regional in Daytona Beach, Fla.; and Texas and Oklahoma State being sent to the Central Regional in Notre Dame, Ind.
NCAA Women's Golf West Regional
May 5-7
Washington National Golf Club
Auburn, Wash.

The Field (Golfstat.com Ranking)
1. USC (1)
2. Virginia (6)
3. Arizona (7)
4. Georgia (12)
5. Tennessee (13)
6. Pepperdine (19)
7. Iowa State (15)
8. UC Davis (23)
9. Texas A&M (27)
10. Oklahoma (28)
11. Oregon (33)
12. South Carolina (36)
13. Washington (38)
14. Tulsa (42)
15. Denver (47)
16. San Diego State (49)
17. Brigham Young (51)
18. New Mexico (52)
19. Texas-San Antonio (57)
20. Portland State (60)
21. New Mexico State (64)
22. San Jose State (71)
23. Oral Roberts (88)
24. UTEP (97)

1. Kayla Mortellaro, Idaho
2. Teo Poplawski, Idaho
3. Amy Anderson, North Dakota State
4. Brianna Espinoza, Colorado State
5. Jessica Hollandsworth, Maryland
6. Chelsey Cothran, Baylor

Starting Times
Teams will tee off on holes 1 and 10 all three days beginning at 8:00 a.m. PT with the last golfers teeing off at approximately 2:10 p.m. Teams will play 18 holes each day. Admission to the tournament is free each day.