Track & Field
9th (W), 2nd (M)
Article Image

The Bowerman men's watch list includes Wayne Davis II and Deon Lendore

May 21, 2014
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

NEW ORLEANS – Texas A&M is the only school with a pair of athletes currently on The Bowerman men’s watch list. Aggie junior Deon Lendore and senior Wayne Davis II are among 10 athletes listed on the updated watch list following the conference weekend.

In addition Texas A&M is one of five Texas schools represented with Baylor, Texas, Texas Tech and UTEP each having an athlete on The Bowerman watch list. Awarded for the first time in 2009, The Bowerman trophy is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track and field athletes in the nation.

Lendore lowered his career best time in the 400 meters to 44.36 from a 44.90 in winning a third consecutive conference title. In the process he broke a 45-year-old Aggie school record of 44.67 set by Curtis Mills in the 1969 NCAA Championships. Lendore’s time ranks No. 7 on the all-time Division I collegiate list with the No. 9 performance. It’s the fastest time to make the top 10 all-time collegiate list since 2005.

This marked the third consecutive year that Lendore, the 2013 NCAA Outdoor runner-up and 2014 NCAA Indoor champion, has swept the conference indoor and outdoor titles in the 400m as well as run on the winning 4x400 relay. He is a perfect 12 for 12 in conference races at 400m and in the 4x400 relay over the past three years. This season he added a victory in the 4x100 at the SEC Championships.

On the 2014 world list Lendore is second fastest this season to a 44.14 run by professional LaShawn Merritt this past weekend. It’s also No. 2 all-time among sprinters from his native Trinidad & Tobago, trailing only the national record of 44.21 set by Ian Morris in the semifinal of the Barcelona Olympic Games in 1992.

Among the all-time world list Lendore is equal to the No. 36 performer as he moved down from equaling the No. 204 performer with his previous best of 44.90. His time is equal to the national record of Great Britain and faster than the national records for Australia (44.38), Bahamas (44.40), Jamaica (44.40), Belgium (44.43), Canada (44.44) and France (44.46).

Lendore has also passed one of Texas A&M’s assistant coaches, Alleyne Francique, on the all-time world 400m list. Francique, a native of Grenada, ran a career best and then national record of 44.47 in 2004.

Having been tied with Leslie Kerr at 44.90 on the Aggie all-time list in the No. 5 position, Lendore passed Tabarie Henry (44.83), Danny McCray (44.81), Demetrius Pinder (44.78) and Mills (44.67) on the way to establishing the Texas A&M school record.

Davis set an Aggie school record twice during the SEC Championships in the 110 hurdles, running a 13.35 in the prelims and then clocking a 13.23 in the final. The 13.35 broke the tie Davis was in with Larry Wade at 13.37 for the A&M school record. Wade set his mark in 1998 while Davis ran 13.37 to win the Big 12 title in 2012.

Then Davis recorded the equal No. 5 performer and No. 7 performance on the all-time collegiate list with his SEC victory in 13.23 seconds. It’s the best collegiate time since 2008 as he shares the No. 5 position with Texas Tech’s Omo Osaghae.

Davis, the defending NCAA 110 hurdle champion, passed six former NCAA champions on the collegiate top 10 list in moving from 13.35 to 13.23.

The impressive list includes Duane Ross of Clemson (13.32) in 1995; Josh Walker of Florida (13.32) in 2004 & 2005; Terrance Trammell of South Carolina (13.29) in 1999 & 2000; Andrew Riley of Illinois (13.28) in 2010 & 2012; Ronnie Ash of Oklahoma (13.27) in 2009 when he ran for Bethune-Cookman; and Tyrone Atkins of Aubrun (13.25) in 2007.

On the Trinidad & Tobago all-time list Davis is now the No. 2 performer behind a 13.19 set by Mikel Thomas in 2013. At one point Davis held the national record for Trinidad when he ran 13.37 to win the Big 12 title in 2012.

The SEC victory for Davis, his third consecutive conference title, improved his winning streak this season to six finals. When adding prelim races the winning streak for Davis includes 10 races in 2014. On the current world list for 2014, Davis equals the third fastest time run with two other hurdlers.

SEC Athlete of the Year honors for Deon Lendore, Ioannis Kyriazis
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad