Article Image

Miller named Most Valuable Swimmer at Annual Banquet

May 03, 2014
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

COLLEGE STATION --- The Texas A&M men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams closed out the 2013-14 school year with a celebration of the season at the annual team banquet on Saturday.

Highlighting the afternoon’s festivities were the announcement of the Aggies’ MVPs – senior women’s swimmer Paige Miller, senior men’s swimmer Paul-Marc Schweitzer and freshman women’s diver Madison Hudkins.

The 2014 NCAA champion in the 100-yard backstroke, Miller had to beat out two other national champions in fellow seniors Cammile Adams and Breeja Larson for the honor. Miller repeatedly lowered her school record in the 100 back, finally stopping with a 50.70 from the leadoff leg of the Aggies’ 400 medley relay at the NCAA Championships. She also unexpectedly added the 200 back school record, a race she rarely swam during her career, with a 1:52.84 at the NCAA meet. She tallied a pair of Southeastern Conference titles as a senior with her fourth-straight conference title (two Big 12 and two SEC) in the 100 back and with the 400 medley relay. At the NCAA meet, she earned All-America honors in the 100 and 200 back and with both medley relays.

Schweitzer took his level of competition to a completely different level in his final season, emerging as the school record holder in the 200-yard freestyle, as well as the team leader in the 100 free. Schweitzer became the second Aggie to post a sub-1:35 200 free when he broke Balazs Makany’s school record with a leadoff leg of 1:34.39 on the 800 free relay that broke the school record at the SEC Championships. In addition to the 100 and 200 free, Schweitzer posted NCAA qualifying cuts in the 100 and 200 backstroke. An excellent student, Schweitzer was Texas A&M’s male nominee for the SEC’s prestigious McWhorter Post-Graduate Scholarship, received the Bill Erwin Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award and was nominated for CoSIDA Academic All-America status.

Hudkins led a youthful Aggie dive crew with zone qualifying scores on the one- and three-meter springboards, and was the Aggies’ top finisher on both boards at the SEC Championships. Hudkins placed seventh in the one-meter dive and 13th in the three-meter at the SEC meet. She was named to the SEC’s All-Freshman team.

2013-14 Texas A&M Swimming & Diving Honors



Most Valuable Swimmer – Paige Miller

Most Valuable Diver - Madison Hudkins

Most Improved Swimmer - Colleen Konetzke

Most Improved Diver - Zoe Alaniz

Jody Tanner-Hansen Optimist Award - Claire Brandt

Aggie Heart – Breeja Larson

Iron Woman - Sammie Bosma

2014-15 Team Captains – Sarah Henry, Claire Brandt, Madison Hudkins


Most Valuable (in memory of Danny Green ’46) -  Paul-Marc Schweitzer

Aggie Heart (in memory of Bob Stallings ’70) – Walker

Most Improved – Cory Bolleter

Trey Heye Memorial – Luke Shaw

“Performances of the Year” – Simon Frank’s 400 IM in the preliminaries at NCAAs and Ford McLiney’s diving performances at the SEC meet.

2014-15 Team Captains – Mitch Glander, Luke Shaw, Cory Bolleter, Ford McLiney

Neubert, Gibson named to Academic All-District Team
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad