Article Image

Ruzickova and Navarro Earn SEC Honors

May 02, 2014
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M senior women’s golfer Katerina Ruzickova was named to the All-SEC Second Team and Marijosse Navarro was named to the All-SEC Freshman Team, the conference office announced Friday.  

“So proud that these two talented players were recognized by the league coaches,” Texas A&M women’s golf head coach Trelle McCombs said. “They both deserve the honor as they have worked very hard this year. Looking forward to what they can do in post-season competition.”

Ruzickova was named to the All-SEC Second Team after leading the Aggies with a 72.73 stroke average and tallying six top-10 finishes on the season. The Ostrava, Czech Republic, native has finished in the top-20 in eight of nine tournaments this year while leading the team with 14 rounds of par or better.

Navarro, a native of Mexico City, has taken little time to adjust to college golf and has finished in the top-20 in all four tournaments since joining the maroon and white in January. The freshman arrived in College Station and immediately made an impact in the lineup, helping the Aggies finish in the top-5 in three of the four tournaments she has competed in.

The Aggies return to action Thursday, May 8, during the NCAA West Regional, which will be hosted by the University of Washington at the Tumble Creek Club at Suncadia Resort in Cle Elum, Washington. Stay tuned to and follow @AggieWomensGolf on Twitter for coverage of Texas A&M women’s golf.


2014 SEC Women’s Golf Awards

SEC Coach of the Year

Shauna Estes-Taylor, Arkansas

SEC Golfer of the Year

Stephanie Meadow, Alabama

SEC Freshman of the Year

Simin Feng, Vanderbilt

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Stephanie Meadow, Alabama

All-SEC Teams

First-Team All-SEC

Simin Feng, Vanderbilt (SEC Championship Medalist)

Allyson McDonald, Mississippi State

Gabriela Lopez, Arkansas

Stephanie Meadow, Alabama

Emily Tubert, Arkansas

Caroline Nistrup, LSU

Madelene Sagstrom, LSU

Justine Dreher, South Carolina

Second-Team All-SEC

Samantha Swinehart, South Carolina

Marta Sanz, Auburn

Katerina Ruzickova, Texas A&M

Emma Talley, Alabama

Jennifer Hahn, Vanderbilt

Regina Plasencia, Arkansas

Katelyn Dambaugh, South Carolina

Chessey Thomas, Tennessee

SEC All-Freshman Team

Maria Torres, Florida

Caroline Nistrup, LSU

Simin Feng, Vanderbilt

Katelyn Dambaugh, South Carolina

Haley Mills, Kentucky

Jessica Peng, Mississippi State

Antonia Scherer, Vanderbilt

Marijosse Navarro, Texas A&M

Navarro Finishes NCAA Championship Tied For 21st
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad