Article Image

Troskot named to Canada’s Pan Pacific Games Team

April 07, 2014
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

VICTORIA, B.C., Canada --  Texas A&M senior swimmer Kyle Troskot earned a spot on Canada’s Pan Pacific Games team after a strong weekend at the Canadian Swimming Trials .

Troskot, from Lethbridge, Alberta, will represent Canada at the Pan Pacific Games in Gold Coast, Australia this summer. Troskot, A&M’s school record holder in the 50-yard freestyle, earned his spot on the squad with a runner-up finish in the 50 free in a time of 22.77. Troskot was the top seed after the morning prelims with a time of 22.86, but was edged out in the evening final by Yuri Kisil, 22.53-22.77. Troskot also shined in the 100 butterfly with a fourth place finish in 54.44.

In other action involving Aggies, sophomore Ashley McGregor (Pointe-Claire, Québec) tallied four fourth-place finishes in the 50 breast (31.85), 100 breast (1:10.03), 200 breast (2:27.11) and the 200 IM (2:16.74); senior Paige Miller (Caledon, Ontario) finished third in the 50 back (28.56), 10th in the 100 back (1:02.76) and 12th in the 100 fly; freshman Sycerika McMahon (who is from Northern Ireland, thus ineligible for the “A” final) won the 200 IM “B” final in 2:17.61, and finished second in the “B” finals of the 50 breast (32.04), 100 breast (1:09.66) and 200 breast (2:30.98); senior Henrik Lindau (from Sweden, thus ineligible for “A” final) won the “B” final of the 50 fly (24.79); freshman Turker Ayar (from Turkey) placed sixth in the 100 free “B” final (51.52). freshman Or Sabatier (from Israel) finished fourth in the 50 free “B” final (23.28) and seventh in the 100 free “B” final (51.69).

Pan Pacific Championships team:
Swimmer, Club/Personal Coach
Brittany MacLean, Etobicoke (Ont.) Swim Club
Samantha Cheverton, Pointe-Claire (Montreal) Swim Club
Alyson Ackman, Pointe-Claire (Montreal) Swim Club
Emily Overholt, West Vancouver Otters/Janusz Kaczmarek
Dominique Bouchard, Oakville (Ont.) Aquatic Club
Brooklynn Snodgrass, Cascade (Calgary) Swim Club
Hilary Caldwell, Pacific Sea Wolves/HPC-Victoria/Randy Bennett
Russell Wood, Cascade (Calgary) Swim Club/Mike Blondal
Tera Van Beilen, UBC Dolphins/HPC-Vancouver/Jozsef Nagy
Kierra Smith, Liquid Lightning (West Kelowna, B.C.) Swim Club
Martha McCabe, Toronto Swim Club/HPC-Ontario/Ben Titley
Victoria Poon, PPO (Montreal)/Benoit Lebrun
Michelle Williams, North York (Ont.) Aquatic Club
Sandrine Mainville, PPO (Montreal)/Benoit Lebrun
Erika Seltenreich-Hodgson, Greater Ottawa Kingfish/HPC-Vancouver/Tom Johnson
Alec Page, Island Swimming/HPC-Victoria/Randy Bennett
Luke Reilly, UBC Dolphins/HPC-Vancouver/Tom Johnson
Tabitha Baumann, Edmonton Keyano Swim Club/Derrick Schoof
Ryan Cochrane, Island Swimming/HPC-Victoria/Randy Bennett
Genevieve Cantin, Laval (Que.) Rouge et Or/Nicolas Perron
Katerine Savard, CAMO (Montreal)/Claude St-Jean
Audrey Lacroix, PPO (Montreal)/Benoit Lebrun
Marni Oldershaw, Oakville (Ont.) Aquatic Club
Sydney Pickrem, Neptune St-Jerome (Que.)
Evan White, Oakville (Ont.) Aquatic Club /Sean Baker
Coleman Allen, UBC Dolphins/HPC-Vancouver/Tom Johnson
Gamal Assaad, Oakville (Ont.) Aquatic Club /Paul Midgley
Will Brothers, Island Swimming/HPC-Victoria/Randy Bennett
Richard Funk, Edmonton Keyano Swim Club
Yuri Kisil, Cascade (Calgary) Swim Club/Dave Johnson
Joe Byram, U Alberta/Bill Humby
Mack Darragh, Oakville (Ont.) Aquatic Club
Lyam Dias, Pointe-Claire (Montreal) Swim Club
Luke Peddie, UBC Dolphins/HPC-Vancouver/Tom Johnson
Kyle Troskot, Lethbridge (Alta.) Swim Club
Chantal Van Landeghem, MANTA (Winnipeg)/HPC-Ontario
John Atkinson, Team Leader
Randy Bennett, Head Coach
Claude St-Jean, Coach
Nicholas Perron, Coach
Benoit Lebrun    Coach
Tom Johnson      Coach
Ben Titley           Coach

Henschel named Team MVP at Annual Banquet
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad