Equestrian Facility 358x90
Article Image

12th-Seeded Aggies Bound for NCEA Championships

March 31, 2014
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The Texas A&M equestrian team will compete in its third-straight National Collegiate Equestrian Association Championships as the No. 12 seed, the NCEA announced today. The national meet will take place April 17-19 at the Extraco Events Center in Waco.

The Aggies will face No. 5 Kansas State in the opening round and the winner of that matchup will ride against No. 4 seed Auburn, who received a bye as one of the top four teams. The Tigers are the defending overall national champions.

Beginning with the 2014 championship, the top-12 overall teams (Western and Hunt Seat combined) are invited to compete. The NCEA Selection Committee determines and invites these teams based on a number of factors throughout the season.

The top-four seeds in the NCEA Championship each receive first-round byes in the 12-team format. The top-four seeds to this year’s event include Southeastern Conference Champion South Carolina, Big 12 Conference Champion Oklahoma State, SEC runner-up Georgia and SEC third-place team Auburn.

Texas A&M was the 2012 NCEA Overall National Champion in just their first year with the league. The Aggies have won 11 total national championships – nine western and two overall – and have been competing in the current varsity equestrian format since the 2006-07 season. Prior to the NCEA, Texas A&M competed in the Varsity Equestrian National Championships (VENC) and the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA). The Aggies have appeared in 19 national championships over the past 14 years.

This season the Aggies are 2-10 with a 1-5 mark in Southeastern Conference action. Each of the team’s 12 meets this year were against top-10 opponents, riding against 10 top five schools, eight top 3 schools, and two top-ranked foes.

To learn more about Texas A&M equestrian, log on to AggieAthletics.com and follow @AggieEquestrian on Twitter.

2014 NCEA Opening-Round Match-Ups
(5) Kansas State vs. (12) Texas A&M (winner faces (4) Auburn)
(6) Baylor vs. (11) UT-Martin (winner faces (3) Georgia)
(7) New Mexico  State vs. (10) SMU (winner faces (2) Oklahoma State)
(8) Fresno State vs. (9) TCU (winner faces (1) South Carolina)

Seeding For 2014 NCEA Championship
1. South Carolina
2. Oklahoma State
3. Georgia
4. Auburn
5. Kansas State
6. Baylor
7. New Mexico State
8. Fresno State
9. TCU
10. SMU
11. UT-Martin
12. Texas A&M

Texas A&M National Championship History
2000 - IHSA        
2001 - IHSA
2002 - IHSA, VENC - VENC Overall Champions, IHSA Western Champions
2003 - IHSA, VENC - IHSA Western National Champions
2004 - IHSA, VENC - IHSA Western National Champions
2005 - IHSA, VENC - VENC Western National Champions
2006 - IHSA, VENC           
2007 – VENC - VENC Western National Champions
2008 - VENC
2009 – VENC - VENC Western National Champions
2010 – VENC - VENC Western National Champions
2011 – VENC - VENC Western National Champions
2012 – NCEA - NCEA Overall Champions, NCEA Western National Champions
2013 - NCEA                       

Equestrian Honors Riders at Annual Team Banquet
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad