Article Image

No. 15 Aggies Look To Defend SEC Tournament Title Starting Friday

March 05, 2014
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)
Game 31 • Friday, March 7, 2014 • 7:30 p.m. CT • SEC Tournament Quarterfinal
[6] Auburn (18-13) -OR- [11] Arkansas (19-10) -OR- [14] Ole Miss (11-19) vs.
No. 15 AP / No. 14 Coaches’ [3] Texas A&M Aggies (23-7, 13-3 SEC)
Duluth, Ga.  Arena at Gwinnett Center (12,750)
Television: FSN (Dave Baker, Nell Fortner)
Radio: Texas A&M Sports Network (Mike Wright, Steve Miller)

DULUTH, Ga.- No. 15 Texas A&M looks to defend its 2013 SEC Tournament Title, starting on Friday, March 7, coming into the tournament as the three seed after wining six of their last seven games.

The Aggies won all three SEC Tournament games the school has ever played, winning the conference title in 2013. The Aggies have made six consecutive conference championship games, dating back to the Aggies' days in the Big 12, joining UConn and Stanford as the only power conference schools to make a championship game each of the last six years.

Texas A&M is 15-3 in conference tournaments since 2008, with three conference tournament championships in that span. The Aggies have reached the semifinals of the conference tournament every year since 2006.

The Aggies have the luxury of watching the start of the conference tournament from the stands, as they await the winners of the earlier rounds to determine their opponent on Friday night at 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET. 14-seed Ole Miss takes on 11-seed Arkansas on Wednesday, and that winner faces No. 6 seed Auburn on Thursday. The winner of Thursday's game faces Texas A&M in the quarterfinal.

The quarterfinal will be televised on FSN, with Dave Baker and Nell Fortner on the call. The semifinal will be televised on ESPNU, with the final on ESPN. Mike Wright and Steve Miller bring the game to listeners on the Texas A&M Sports Network throughout the tournament.

Three Aggies received All-SEC honors prior to this game, with Courtney Walker (First Team), Courtney Williams (Second Team) and Jordan Jones (Defensive Team, Co-Defensive Player of the Year) earning conference awards.

Stay tuned to for complete coverage of the SEC Women's Basketball Tournament.

Walker Named Team MVP At Women's Basketball Banquet
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad