Article Image

Frank breaks 200 back record twice at SEC

February 22, 2014
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)
Athens, Ga. --- Texas A&M senior Simon Frank broke the school record in the 200-yard backstroke twice on Saturday to highlight the Aggies’ final day action at the Southeastern Conference Championships at the University of Georgia.

In the team standings, the Aggies placed seventh with 609 points. Florida won the SEC team title for the second straight season with 1,440 points and were trailed by Auburn (1280.5), Georgia (1,095), Alabama (798), Missouri (742.5), Tennessee (713), Texas A&M, Kentucky (532), LSU (531) and South Carolina (491).

After the meet, junior diver Ford McLiney, from Kansas City, Mo., was named Diver of the Meet after logging a pair of victories and a fourth place finish. McLiney won the three-meter springboard with 424.95 points and the platform dive with 415.20 points, and was fourth on the one-meter with 389.65 effort. McLiney was the fourth Aggie to win conference Diver of the Meet honors in school history, joining Mark Naftanel (1997-99), Eric Sehn (2005-07, 09) and Grant Nel (2010).

Frank, from Stockholm, Sweden, entered the SEC meet ranked No. 5 in school history in the 200 back, but he shot to the top of the chart with a 1:43.73 to break Nikita Denisyako’s old school mark by one-hundredth of a second. In the evening final, he added some cushion to the school record with a time of 1:43.66 while taking third in the consolation final. Sophomore teammate Alexandros Theocharidis placed fourth in the race in 1:44.83.

The Aggies had a pair of point-scorers in the 1,650 freestyle with school record holder Omar Enriquez taking 11th in a season-best and NCAA B cut time of 15:13.76 and sophomore Mitch Glander posted his lifetime best of 15:33.03 while placing 21st.

A&M scored 33 points in the 100 freestyle with a trio of Aggies earning evening swims. Senior Kyle Troskot placed third in the B final with a time of 43.46 and senior Paul-Marc Schweitzer took sixth in 43.65, while freshman Turker Ayar placed fifth in the C final in a lifetime best 43.88.

Aggie junior Hayden Duplechain, from A&M Consolidated High School in College Station, continued his strong SEC meet with his third NCAA B cut of the meet on Saturday. Duplechain placed fifth in the C final of the 200 breaststroke with a lifetime best time of 1:59.43. He now ranks No. 6 on A&M’s top 10 list in the race. Duplechain also posted B cuts in the 200 and 400 IM.

The Aggies closed out the meet with a strong fifth-place finish in the 400 free relay. The foursome of Troskot, sophomore Cory Bolleter, senior Henrik Lindau and Schweitzer touched the wall in a season-best and NCAA A cut time of 2:52.90, which is the third-fastest in school history.

Aggies in the Top 24

1,650 Freestyle

11.    Omar Enriquez                    15:13.76 B

21.    Mitch Glander                     15:33.03

100 Freestyle

11.    Kyle Troskot                         43.46 B (43.24 p)

14.    Paul-Marc Schweitzer      43.65 B (43.65 p)

21.    Turker Ayar                          43.88 B

200 Backstroke

11.    Simon Frank                         1:43.66 B (A&M record)

12.    Alexandros Theocharidis    1:44.83 B

200 Breaststroke

21.    Hayden Duplechain           1:59.43 B

400 Free Relay

5.      Texas A&M (Kyle Troskot, Cory Bolleter, Henrik Lindau and Paul-Marc Schweitzer) 2:52.90 A

Henschel named Team MVP at Annual Banquet
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad