Pasadena, CA – Jake Matthews of Texas A&M won the Seminole Tribe of Florida Bobby Bowden Award. It was presented by coach Bowden Friday morning at the FCA breakfast in Irvine California at the BCS site. As a junior in 2012, Matthews was a first-team All-Southeastern Conference (SEC) selection. He also received first team All-American honors by the Football Writers Association of America. During his senior season, Matthews played left tackle after playing right tackle for the previous three seasons. As a senior in 2013, Matthews was again a first-team All-Southeastern Conference (SEC) selection. In some NFL draft scenarios Matthews is considered the second overall pick. Matthew’s father is Tennessee Titans coach Bruce Matthews.


Matthews won the award over Mississippi punter Tyler Campbell, Arizona linebacker Jake Fischer, Oklahoma offensive lineman Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma State linebacker Shaun Lewis, and Alabama wide receiver Kevin Norwood.

The Bobby Bowden award recognizes the Football Bowl Subdivision player who epitomizes a student-athlete. He must conduct himself as a faith model in the classroom, on the field, on the campus and in the community. He must carry a 3.0 GPA. To win, he must also have the backing of his school's Athletic Director and Head Football coach.

The award is named after former Florida State University football head coach Bobby Bowden. It was conceived by Vince Gibson, a former Bowden assistant at South Georgia College who went on to become head coach at Kansas State, Louisville and Tulane long before he passed away in 2012 from Lou Gehrig's disease; and Vernon Brinson, one of Bowden’s former players at South Georgia College in the 1950s.

The Award is sponsored by The Seminole Tribe of Florida.

Past winners are:

2003       Jason Wright                         Northwestern University

2004       Billy Bajema                         Oklahoma State University

2005       D. J. Shockley                       University of Georgia

2006       Carl Pendleton                      University of Oklahoma

2007       Jacob Tamme                        University of Kentucky

2008       Stephen McGee                    Texas A&M

2009       Colt McCoy                          University of Texas

2010       Christian Ponder                   Florida State University

2011       Case Keenum                        University of Houston

2012       Ashton Richardson               Auburn University

The following is a list of the nominees in alphabetical order.

Ryan Alderman                       Temple University

Chris Burnette                         University of Georgia

Tyler Campbell                        University of Mississippi

Richie Casey                           Louisiana Tech

Chandler Catanzaro                Clemson University

Joseph Fazio                            Ball State University

Jake Fischer                             University of Arizona

Cam Gordon                           University of Michigan

Andrew Green                                    University of Nebraska

Derrick Hopkins                      Virginia Tech

Lamarcus Joyner                     Florida State University

Rob Henry                              Purdue University

Gabe Ikard                              University of Oklahoma

Jon Koontz                              Texas Christian

Shaun Lewis                           Oklahoma State University

Jamie Markosian                     Utah State University

Jordan McCray                       University of Central Florida

Kirby Moore                           Boise State

Conner O’Neil                                    University of Wisconsin

Kevin Norwood                      University of Alabama

Tanner Price                            Wake Forest

Brett Van Sloten                     University of Iowa

Christian Smith                       University of Toledo

Alex Zordich                           State University of New York – Buffalo

About FCA:
The Fellowship of Christian Athletes is touching millions of lives one heart at a time. Since 1954, the Fellowship of Christian Athletes has been challenging coaches and athletes on the professional, college, high school, junior high and youth levels to use the powerful medium of athletics to impact the world for Jesus Christ. FCA focuses on serving local communities by equipping, empowering and encouraging people to make a difference for Christ.