Walk On Tryouts
Article Image

Three Aggies Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

July 08, 2013
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

PHILADELPHIA --- Three Texas A&M football players were named to “watch list” for the prestigious Maxwell Award, which is given annually to college football’s player of the year by the Maxwell Football Club.

The Aggies earning spots on the list were sophomore wide receiver Mike Evans (Galveston, Texas), sophomore quarterback Johnny Manziel (Kerrville, Texas) and senior offensive lineman Jake Matthews (Missouri City, Texas). Manziel was a finalist for the 2012 Maxwell Award along with eventual winner Manti Te’o of Notre Dame and Collin Klein of Kansas State.

Manziel and Matthews both earned All-America honors in 2012 with Manziel earning consensus honors and Matthews being recognized by the Football Writers Association of America. Evans earned Freshman All-Southeastern Conference honors after breaking A&M’s freshman records for catches and receiving yards.

Manziel was also named to the watch list for the Paul Hornung Award, which is given annually to college football’s most versatile player by the Louisville Sports Commission.

Raven to Participate in College All-Star Football Game
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad