Article Image

No. 3 Aggie women defeat No. 2 Oregon, No. 4 Ducks hold off No. 1 A&M

April 07, 2013
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)
EUGENE – A pair of school records highlighted a cold, wet experience for the Aggies at the 24th annual Oregon Pepsi Team Invitational on Saturday as they collected a total of 16 wins. The No. 3 A&M women handed the No. 2 Ducks a rare defeat, 201 to 181, while the No. 1 Aggie men fell short of No. 4 Oregon, 194.5 to 180.5, in front of 5,367 fans at Hayward Field.

With A&M defeating Oregon for the women’s title it marks the first loss in this meet by the Ducks since 2008, when Minnesota topped the host school by one point.

Jennifer Madu and Kamaria Brown each had a hand in three victories on the day while Shelbi Vaughan was a double winner for the Aggies in the shot put and discus. Madu won the 100 meters, triple jump and anchored the 4x100 relay. Brown claimed the 200 meters while running on the winning 4x100 and 4x400 relays.

In the women’s competition Washington finished third with 146 points while Washington State placed fourth with 138 points. Behind Oregon and A&M in the men’s competition, Washington State scored 165.5 points while Washington put together 129.5 to place third and fourth.

Vaughan broke her own school record in the discus with an impressive toss of 193 feet, 4 inches (58.93), which won the event by over 40 feet. Vaughan, who made most of her attempts during a steady downpour, improved her A&M record of 188-8 on her first throw of the competition.

The series for Vaughan after her 193-4 included a 158-11 (48.44) in the third round and a 177-8 (54.16) in the sixth stanza. Oregon’s Laura Bobek finished second with a mark of 150-2 (45.78) while Aggie teammate Jill Hydrick placed fifth with a 136-10 (41.70).

Vaughan acquired the Aggies first victory on the women’s side as her mark of 47-7.25 (14.51) captured the shot put title with teammate Brea Garrett in second with a 47-5.25 (14.46).

Henry Lelei improved his school record in the 3,000-meter steeplechase on the way to setting a world-leading time for 2013 with his victory in 8:32.94. He broke the meet record of 8:40.91 set in 1996 by Oregon’s Daniel Das Neves. A&M’s Isaac Spencer finished second in the steeplechase with an 8:51.81 while Stephen Curry placed fifth in 9:06.11.

Lelei lowered his previous A&M record of 8:38.90 from last season while improving the previous world-leading time for 2013 of 8:33.74 set by Youcef Abdi of Australia in Melbourne earlier on April 6.

Madu won the 100 meters in 11.43 (0.0 wind), moving her to No. 11 on the Aggie all-time list. Oregon’s Jenna Prandini was a close second in 11.47. A&M claimed the next three positions with Ashton Purvis (11.55), Ashley Collier (11.76) and India Daniels (11.78).

Earlier in the meet Madu anchored the Aggie 4x100 relay to victory in 43.98 seconds over Oregon’s 44.39. LaKeidra Stewart, Ashton Purvis and Brown ran the first three legs for A&M. A second Aggie crew of Daniels, Olivia Ekponé, Ibukun Mayungbe and Chandrell Stephens placed third in 44.99.

In the triple jump Madu led a 1-2-4 finish by A&M with a winning distance of 41-6 (12.65). Jordan Wilson placed second with a 39-3.25 (11.97) while Haley Gooch was fourth at 38-3.5 (11.67).

Brown ran 23.27 (-0.3 wind) to win the 200 over Oregon’s English Gardner, the defending NCAA 100 champion. Gardner ran 23.32 with Ashton Purvis placing third with a 23.54.

Texas A&M locked up the team victory prior to the 4x400 relay when the tandem of Amanda Jenkins and Hillary Montgomery finished first and second in the 5,000 meters.

Jenkins, who led a majority of the race, responded to a late challenge from Oregon’s Katie Conlon and won with a career best time of 16:43.27, No. 5 on A&M’s all-time list.

Montgomery placed second in a career best of 16:44.54, No. 6 on the Aggie all-time list, while Conlon was third in 16:45.55. A&M’s Grace Fletcher placed fourth with a career best of 16:46.83, the No. 7 mark on the Aggie all-time list.

In the 4x400 Brown anchored the Aggie effort with a 53.4 split as A&M ran 3:36.84 to defeat Oregon (3:42.40). The first three legs of the relay include Ekponé (55.3), Mayungbe (53.1), and Stewart (55.0).

Dalton Rowan claimed the Aggies first win of the day in the discus on his opening throw of 186-5 (56.83) while teammate Ben Skrla finished third with a season best of 165-1 (50.32). Rowan topped the field by 21 feet as Washington State’s Oliver Henry finished second at 165-4 (50.39). Later in the meet Rowan added a fifth place effort in the shot put (46-11.75 / 14.32).

Sam Humphreys dominated the javelin as well, producing a winning mark of 256-3 (78.10) while Oregon’s Sam Crouser finished second with a 238-5 (72.68). Devin Bogert placed fifth for A&M with a throw of 221-8 (67.56).

In winning comfortably with a 39.37, the Aggie men’s 4x100 just missed the meet record of 39.24 set in 1991 by Washington. Oregon finished second in 40.33 with Washington State third at 40.49 and Washington fourth in 40.62. The A&M foursome included Ameer Webb, Aldrich Bailey, Jr., Michael Bryan and Prezel Hardy, Jr.

Hardy and Webb each claimed an individual win as well. Hardy posted a 10.47 (-0.1) for the 100m title over a 10.57 for Bryan with Oregon’s De’Anthony Thomas third at 10.61.

Webb led a 1-2-3 effort by the Aggies in the 200 with a winning time of 20.74 (-0.2 wind). Hardy and Bryan ran in the first of two heats, clocking times of 20.80 (-0.8) and 21.04, respectively. Finishing behind Webb in the second heat were Oregon’s Arthur Delaney (21.17) and James Alaka of Washington (21.51).

After Oregon locked up the men’s team victory with points from the hammer and 5,000 meters, Texas A&M closed the meet with a 3:05.85 win in the 4x400 relay over a 3:06.31 from the Ducks. The Aggie quartet included Carlyle Roudette (47.0), Bailey (47.0), Ricky Babineaux (46.5) and Lendore (45.3).

Victories for the A&M men also included Greg Coleman in the 400 hurdles (51.33) while teammate Aikan Graham claimed fourth (52.52) running in lane one. Dave Brown finished first in the triple jump with a wind-aided mark of 48-3.5 (14.72).

Donique’ Flemings posted a season best of 13.33 (1.6 wind) to win the 100 hurdles and then finished third in the 400 hurdles (1:00.00). Annie Kunz grabbed third place in the 100 hurdles after winning the first heat in 14.10 (0.0 wind).

Other runner-up efforts on the day included Mayungbe in the women’s 400 (53.35), Babineaux in the men’s 400 (47.38), Jena Hemann in the high jump (5-5.75 / 1.67), LaQue Moen-Davis in the long jump (19-4.25 / 5.90) and Casey Strong in the hammer (193-9 / 59.05).

Hector Hernandez posted a 1:49.92 for third place in the 800 with Josh Hernandez clocking 1:49.95 in fourth. Jonathan Turner finished third in the long jump with a 23-1.25 (7.04).

Garrett added fourth place in the hammer (152-9 / 46.57) while Krystyn Bradley (142-1 / 43.32) led A&M in the women’s javelin with a fourth-place finish. Sophie Blake moved to No. 5 on the Aggie all-time list with a 4:26.11 for sixth place in the 1,500.

Aggie sprinter Deon Lendore wins the 2014 Bowerman Award
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad