Article Image

Texas A&M's Deon Lendore added to The Bowerman watch list

February 27, 2013
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)
NEW ORLEANS - Deon Lendore, a Texas A&M sophomore sprinter, was one of four athletes added to The Bowerman official men's watch list on Wednesday. The Bowerman Trophy represents collegiate track and field's highest honor. Previous winners of the prestigious award, which began in 2009, include Aggie NCAA champion Jessica Beard in 2011.

Currently, Lendore is the lone sprinter on The Bowerman men's watch list and one of just two sophomores among the group of 10 athletes.

A victory in the 400 meters at the SEC Indoor Championships coupled with a blistering anchor leg on a SEC meet record 4x400 relay garnered the attention of the The Bowerman watch list.

Lendore recorded a 2013 world-leading time of 45.15 seconds, which ranks the Trinidad & Tobago native 10th on the all-time world list, during the prelims of the SEC 400. In the final of the event, Lendore recorded a winning time of 45.23 over a 45.67 by Florida's Hugh Graham.

With a 44.50 split as the anchor leg of the Aggie's winning 4x400 relay, Lendore posted one of the fastest splits ever recorded on an indoor track. Lendore moved A&M from third to first with his carry as the Aggies defeated Florida, 3:04.18 to 3:04.31.

Comparable to a hand-time split of 44.4 by Baylor's Darold Williamson in 2005, Lendore tops a list of the fastest ever 4x400 relays splits among collegians and professionals, which includes 44.54 by South Plains Rondell Bartholomew in 2011, 45.62 by LaShawn Merritt in 2007, 44.74 by Jeremy Wariner in 2006, 44.75 by Milton Campbell in 1999 and a 44.78 by Great Britain's Jaime Baulch in 1999.

Texas A&M's relay time of 3:04.18, a world leader for 2013, ranks the Aggies as the fifth fastest collegiate team ever and is 17th fastest ever on the world all-time list.

The Bowerman Watch List - 2013

ATHLETE                            YEAR        SCHOOL                               EVENTS

Marquis Dendy               Soph        Florida                                     Jumps

Derek Drouin                Senior        Indiana                     Jumps / Multi

Tim Glover                     Senior        Illinois State                          Javelin

Kennedy Kithuka         Junior        Texas Tech                        Distance

Erik Kynard                    Senior        Kansas State                 High Jump

Lawi Lalang                     Junior        Arizona                               Distance

Deon Lendore                 Soph        Texas A&M                           Sprints

Chris O'Hare                  Senior        Tulsa                                    Distance

Jeremy Taiwo               Senior        Washington                             Multi

Alexander Ziegler       Senior        Virginia Tech                       Throws

World All-Time List

400 meters

44.57         Kerron Clement (US)                  2005

44.63         Michael Johnson (US)                1995

44.80         Kirani James (GRN)                     2011

44.93         LaShawn Merritt (US)                2005

45.02         Danny Everett (US)                     1992

45.03         Torrin Lawrence (US)                 2010

45.05         Thomas Schonlebe (GDR)        1988

45.05         Alvin Harrison (US)                      1998

45.11         Nery Brenes (CRC)                      2012

45.15         Deon Lendore (TRI)                    2013

4x400 Relay splits (among top 75 relay times)

44.4            Darold Williamson (Baylor)       2005

44.50         Deon Lendore (Texas A&M)   2013

44.54         Rondell Bartholomew (SPl)      2011

44.5                 Darold Williamson (Bay)       2004

44.62         LaShawn Merritt (Tyson AS)    2007

44.74         Jeremy Wariner (US)                  2006

44.75         Milton Campbell (US)                 1999

44.78         Jaime Baulch (GBR)                     1999

44.7            Alleyne Francique (LSU)            2001

44.8            Mitch Potter (Minnesota)        2004

44.91         Tony McQuay (Florida)              2011

44.94         Demetrius Pinder (Tx A&M)   2011

44.9            Jonathan Fortenberry (SCar)  2003

4x400 Relay

3:01.96      US All-Star Team                          2006

3:02.83      USA National Team                     1999

3:03.01      Poland National Team                1999

3:03.05      German National Team             1991

3:03.20      Great Britain National Team    1999

3:03.24      USA National Team                     1991

3:03.24      USA National Team                     2006

3:03.40      USA National Team                     2010

3:03.51      Florida                                              2005

3:03.66      USA National Team                     2006


3:03.76      Arkansas                                          2012

3:03.94      USA National Team                     2012

3:03.96      Baylor                                               2004

3:04.01      LSU                                                    2006

3:04.09      USA National Team                     2003

3:04.17      USA National Team                     2003

3:04.18      Texas A&M                                    2013

3:04.20      USA National Team                     1993

3:04.21      Jamaica                                            2003

3:04.24      Texas A&M                                    2011

3:04.24      Baylor                                               2007

Aggies claim five victories at Michael Johnson Classic
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad