2015 NSD
Article Image

Sumlin Named Coach of the Year Semifinalist

November 19, 2012
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)
PHILADELPHIA --- First-year Texas A&M head coach Kevin Sumlin was named a semifinalist for the National Coach of the Year Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced on Monday.

Sumlin was one of 16 semifinalists for the award, and joins fellow Southeastern Conference head coaches Will Muschamp of Florida and Mark Richt of Georgia on the list. Also being named semifinalists were Dave Doeren of Northern Illinois, Sonny Dykes of Louisiana Tech, Darrell Hazell of Kent State, Brian Kelly of Notre Dame, Chip Kelly of Oregon, Mike MacIntyre of San Jose State, Urban Meyer of Ohio State, Jim Mora of UCLA, Bill O'Brien of Penn State, Mike Riley of Oregon State, David Shaw of Stanford, Bill Snyder of Kansas State and Dabo Swinney of Clemson.

Sumlin has led the Aggies to a 9-2 overall record which is the winningest debut season by a Texas A&M head coach in school history. The previous high win total by a first-year coach was eight victories by R.C. Slocum in 1989 and D.X. Bible in 1917.

The Aggies will be seeking its first 10-win season since 1998 when they host Missouri in the regular season finale on Saturday. Other accomplishments by the 2012 Aggies include achieving the highest Bowl Championship Series ranking since 1998, and producing its first perfect regular season record away from Kyle Field since 1992.

Press Conference: Spring Football Finale
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad