Article Image

Texas A&Mís Stancu, Gavrilovska Garner All-SEC Tennis Honors

April 23, 2014
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)
COLLEGE STATION, Texas  – Texas A&M senior Cristina Stancu (pronounced STAHN-coo) was named to the All-SEC first team for women’s tennis, and Aggie teammate Saska Gavrilovska (pronounced sausa-kah gav-ril-ov-ska) was named to the second team as well as to the SEC All-Freshman team, the conference office announced today.

Playing in the nation’s toughest conference, which boasts five teams in the Top 10 in Intercollegiate Tennis Association national rankings, Stancu and Gavrilovska helped lead the fifth-ranked Aggies to a 10-3 record in SEC matches. A&M finished in fifth place in the conference standings, only one game behind a three-way tie for second, and two games behind regular season champion and No. 3-ranked Alabama.

Stancu, who played the No. 1 line in both singles and doubles, went undefeated in SEC singles matches with an 8-0 record and was 7-1 in SEC doubles matches. From Constanta, Romania, Stancu is currently ranked No. 8 in the nation in singles, matching her career high. She also is a season-high No. 12 in doubles with partner Stefania Hristov.

Stancu leads A&M in overall singles wins with a 31-7 mark, tying for seventh for most wins in the A&M all-time season records. She will enter the NCAA Championship riding a career-best 13-match win streak. Stancu is 23-9 overall in doubles matches.

An All-SEC second team selection as a junior, this season Stancu was named the SEC Player of the week on March 12 and was recently named to the SEC All-Tournament team after leading the Aggies to the semifinals.

Gavrilovska is a four-time SEC Freshman of the Week honoree and also was named SEC Player of the Week after defeating fifth-ranked Haley Carter in the last match standing in the Aggies’ 4-3 victory at No. 3 North Carolina. The victory marked the highest ranked win by an A&M freshman in school history.

From Serbia, Gavrilovska is currently ranked No. 57 in the nation in singles and No. 87 in doubles with partner Ines Deheza. Gavrilovska went 7-2 in SEC singles matches, including 5-0 at the No. 2 line. She is tied for the team lead for most wins in dual matches with a 15-4 record and will enter the NCAA Championship riding a six-match win streak.

Gavrilovska is 10-7 in doubles in all dual matches, including 8-3 at the No. 2 line. She was 6-1 with Deheza in SEC matches only, all at the No. 2 position.

The Aggies (19-6) now await the NCAA Tennis Selection Show and the announcement of the 64-team NCAA Championship field on Tuesday, April 29. The men’s selection show will begin at 4 p.m., and the women’s selections will be revealed at 4:30 p.m. only on Last year, the A&M women were seeded an all-time high No. 3 and reached the championship match for the first time in school history.

Singles and doubles selections will be released on the NCAA website after 5 p.m. on Wednesday, April 30.

Visit for more information on Texas A&M women’s tennis. Aggie fans also can keep up to date with the A&M women’s tennis team on Twitter by following @AggieWTEN or on Facebook at

Women’s Tennis All-SEC Team:

First Team All-SEC
Erin Routliffe, Alabama
Pleun Burgmans, Auburn
Alexandra Cercone, Florida
Brianna Morgan, Florida
Olivia Janowicz, Florida
Silvia Garcia, Georgia
Lauren Herring, Georgia
Maho Kowase, Georgia
Georgiana Patrasc, Mississippi State
Elixane Lechemia, South Carolina
Cristina Stancu, Texas A&M
Frances Altick, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Luicelena Perez, Alabama
Maya Jansen, Alabama
Emily Flickinger, Auburn
Sofie Oyen, Florida
Aldila Sutjiadi, Kentucky
Joana Vale Costa, LSU
Julia Jones, Ole Miss
Cierra Gaytan-Leach, Missouri
Eve Repic, Tennessee
Saska Gavrilovska, Texas A&M
Marie Casares, Vanderbilt
Georgina Sellyn, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team
Erin Routliffe, Alabama
Sydney Campbell, Vanderbilt
Joana Vale Costa, LSU
Saska Gavrilovska, Texas A&M
Eve Repic, Tennessee
Danielle Spielmann, Alabama

Player of the Year
Lauren Herring, Georgia

Co-Freshmen of the Year
Erin Routliffe, Alabama
Sydney Campbell, Vanderbilt

Coach of the Year
Jenny Mainz, Alabama

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Mary Anne Daines, Alabama

Paalma-Pierson Duo Sets Texas A&M Record with No. 15 Final Ranking
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad