Article Image

Three Aggies Garner SEC Honors

December 02, 2013
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)
COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Texas A&M senior setter Allie Sawatzky and sophomore middle blocker Shelby Sullivan were named to the 2013 All-SEC Volleyball Team, and Aggie middle blocker Jazzmin Babers was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team, the conference office announced today.

All three players have started every match and played in every set this season while leading the A&M to an 18-11 overall record and a 10-8 mark in league play, placing the Aggies in a tie with Auburn for sixth place.

Sawatzky, an All-SEC second team selection in 2012, directed an A&M offense that ranked third in the conference in both assists (13.11) and kills (14.14) per set and ranked fourth in the league with a .264 hitting percentage in SEC matches only. Individually, the Manitoba, Canada, native averaged 10.03 assists per set in conference matches and led all setters in the league with 2.34 kills per set and hit .332, ranking 10th among all players in the SEC.

Sawatzky led the league with three triple doubles in conference matches only and six overall. The team captain also tied for the most double-doubles (12) in league matches and leads the SEC with 20 double-doubles for the full season. She posted double figures in kills in nine of 18 SEC matches, hitting .437 when reaching double digits.

Sawatzky, who has started every match (121) in her four-year career, averages 9.92 assists and 2.21 kills per set in all matches this season. She ranks third in the A&M career records with 4,472 assists and is 10th in career points with 925.

Sullivan ranks second in the SEC with a .450 hitting percentage in conference matches only. She also is ninth in aces (0.28), 11th in points (3.77), 12th in kills (3.03) and 16th in blocks (0.81) per set in league matches.

Sullivan hit .682 against SEC-champion Missouri, tying for eighth in the A&M all-time records for hitting percentage in a single match when making 20 or more attempts. From Richardson, Texas, Sullivan is hitting .383 for the full season and is on pace to finish second in the all-time A&M single season records behind former Aggie All-American middle blocker Sherri Brinkman, who hit a school-record .400 in 1984.

Babers, from Charleston, Ill., is the first A&M to be named to the SEC All-Freshman Team after ranking fourth in the SEC with 1.36 blocks per set in conference matches only and ranking second in the league with 1.31 blocks per set in all matches. She hit .306 in SEC matches and is hitting .290 for the full season, ranking 15th and 17, respectively in SEC statistical rankings.

Babers was the SEC Defensive Player of the Week on Sept. 14 after averaging 1.82 blocks per set and receiving all-tournament honors as the Aggies won their own Texas A&M Invitational. In the tournament, Babers had 11 blocks against No. 7 Michigan, marking the most blocks by an A&M freshman since 2001.

Babers also was named SEC Freshman of the Week on Nov. 18 after hitting a combined .444 and averaging 1.33 blocks, 2.11 kills and 2.83 points per set in consecutive sweeps over LSU, Tennessee and Auburn.

The All-SEC Team is an 18-member team voted on by the league’s head coaches, while the freshman team consists of seven members. No ties are broken. Missouri won the SEC regular season team title, going 18-0 in conference matches to earn the league’s automatic berth in the 2013 NCAA Volleyball Championship.

Texas A&M, which closed out the regular having won seven of its last eight matches, received an at-large bid to the NCAA tournament and will face UTSA in the first round, Thursday, Dec. 5 at Gregory Gym in Austin, Texas. The match against the Roadrunners (24-7) will begin at 4:30 p.m.

Tickets are available online at or by calling (512) 471-3333.

The following is the complete list of 2013 SEC volleyball awards:

Player of the Year: Molly Kreklow, Missouri

Libero of the Year: Taylor Unroe, Florida

Freshman of the Year: Carly Kan, Missouri

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Camila Jersonsky, Auburn

Coach of the Year: Wayne Kreklow, Missouri

All-SEC Team

Krystal Rivers, Alabama

Meredith Hays, Arkansas

Camila Jersonsky, Auburn

Alex Holston, Florida

Chloe Mann, Florida

Živa Recek, Florida

Taylor Unroe, Florida

Brittany Northcutt, Georgia

Whitney Billings, Kentucky

Alexandra Morgan, Kentucky

Briana Holman, LSU

Lisa Henning, Missouri

Carly Kan, Missouri

Molly Kreklow, Missouri

Whitney Little, Missouri

Juliette Thévenin, South Carolina

Allie Sawatzky, Texas A&M

Shelby Sullivan, Texas A&M

All-Freshman Team

Krystal Rivers, Alabama

Alex Holston, Florida

Anni Thomasson, Kentucky

Briana Holman, LSU

Kimmy Gardiner, Mississippi State

Carly Kan, Missouri

Jazzmin Babers, Texas A&M


Aggie Volleyball Completes Spring Season
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad