2015 NSD
Article Image

Kaser named Ray Guy Award semifinalist

November 08, 2013
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

AUGUSTA, Ga. --- Texas A&M punter Drew Kaser was named one of 10 semifinalists for the Ray Guy Award, which is given annually to college football’s most outstanding punter.

Kaser, a sophomore from Strongsville, Ohio, is the leading punter in the Southeastern Conference with a 48.5 average, which is nearly two yards better than the second-ranked punter. With Kaser’s booming punts and a stellar punt coverage unit, the Aggies lead the SEC and rank No. 3 nationally in net punting with a 41.3 average.

In addition, Kaser has put 11 of his 26 punts inside the opponents’ 20 yard line and forced eight fair catches. Only seven of Kaser’s punts have been returned for just 67 yards with a long of 19 yards. Kaser has 11 punts of 50 yards or more, including a 76 yarder against Rice that tied for the sixth-longest in A&M history.

The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the punter’s net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-­‐yard line and percentage of punts not returned. A national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners will decide the three award finalists, who will be announced on November 25. Voters will then cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner.

The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, December 12 at 7:30 pm ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard will feature live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney’s Spirit Award, The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award, and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20‐yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

2013 Ray Guy Award Semi-Finalists

Steven Clark (Sr.) -- Auburn

Tom Hornsey (Sr.) – Memphis

Cameron Johnson (Fr.) – Ohio State

Drew Kaser (So.) – Texas A&M

Richie Leone (Sr.) – Houston

Cody Mandell (Sr.) – Alabama

Michael Palardy (Sr.) – Tennessee

Mike Sadler (Jr.) – Michigan State

Will Scott (Sr.) – Troy

Cody Webster (Sr.) – Purdue

KESN FM 103.3 Agrees to Become Home of Aggie Football Radio Broadcasts
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad