2015 NSD
Article Image

Matthews named Senior CLASS Award candidate

September 04, 2013
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)

Overland Park, Kan. --- Outland Trophy candidate Jake Matthews of Texas A&M was named one of 30 candidates for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award®, which honors notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

Matthews, a senior from Missouri City, Texas, is a returning first-team All-Southeastern Conference and All-America offensive tackle for the Aggies. Matthews was a mainstay of the Aggies’ 2012 offensive front that cleared the way for Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Johnny Manziel. The Aggies led the SEC in rushing, passing, total and scoring offense last year.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 30 candidates, 12 have grade point averages of 3.0 or higher. Seven are all-Americans and 12 were all-conference selections in 2012. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

For more information on all the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

# # # #

Football Candidates

Lamin Barrow, LSU

Chris Borland, Wisconsin

Derek Carr, Fresno State

Steven Clark, Auburn

Ross Cockrell, Duke

Vincenzo D’Amato, California

Alden Darby, Arizona State

Jake Fischer, Arizona

Andrew Furney, Washington State

Dave Harding, Duke

Greg Heban, Indiana

Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma

Will Jackson, Georgia Tech

Jacob Karam, Memphis

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska

Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

AJ McCarron, Alabama

Jack Mewhort, Ohio State

Alex Page, South Alabama

Cairo Santos, Tulane

Nathan Scheelhaase, Illinois

Eric Soza, Texas-San Antonio

Carey Spear, Vanderbilt

Will Sutton, Arizona State

Travis Swanson, Arkansas

John Urschel, Penn State

Kyle Van Noy, BYU

Avery Williamson, Kentucky

Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State

Audio: Jake Spavital on Studio 12
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad