2015 NSD
Article Image

Four Aggies Take AP All-America Honors

December 11, 2012
Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
(photo: Texas A&M Athletics)
Four Texas A&M football players were named to the Associated Press All-America team on Tuesday, including first-team selections Johnny Manziel and Luke Joeckel.

Also the 2012 Heisman Trophy and Davey O'Brien Award winner, Manziel, a redshirt freshman from Kerrville, Texas, is the first Aggie quarterback named to the Associated Press All-America first team. It was a meteoric rise for Manziel, who won the Aggies' starting quarterback job in August, and went on to break Cam Newton's Southeastern Conference record for total offense and become the fifth player in NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision history to throw for 3,000 yards and rush for 1,000 yards in the same season.

It was the sixth All-America team selection for Manziel, who was also on teams selected by CBSSports.com, ESPN.com, SI.com, the Sporting News and the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

Joeckel, a junior from Arlington, Texas, is the first Aggie offensive lineman to earn All-America honors since Mike Arthur in 1990. He is also the first Aggie to ever win the Outland Trophy, which is given annually to the nation's top interior lineman. Joeckel helped clear the way for an offense that led the SEC in rushing, passing, scoring and total offense and gained 400 or more yards in the final 11 games of the 2012 regular season.

Joeckel has achieved the first four steps toward unanimous All-America status with honors from the AP, the America Football Coaches Association, Sporting News and Walter Camp. The fifth All-American team used for unanimous status is the Football Writers Association of America, which will be released on Friday. Joeckel has also earned All-America honors from CBSSports.com, SportsIllustrated.com and ESPN.com.

Joining Manziel and Joeckel on the AP All-America team were junior Damontre Moore (Rowlett, Texas) and junior Jake Matthews (Missouri City, Texas). Moore, a finalist for the Hendricks Trophy and a semifinalist for the Lombardi Award and Bednarik Trophy, was named to the AP's second team after making 12.5 sacks and 20 tackles for loss. Matthews, a first-team All-SEC pick, was named to the third team.

2012 Associated Press All-America Team
Quarterback: Johnny Manziel, redshirt freshman, 6-foot-1, 200 pounds, Texas A&M
Running back: Montee Ball, senior, 5-11, 215, Wisconsin
Running back: Ka'Deem Carey, sophomore, 5-10, 197, Arizona
Tackle: Luke Joeckel, junior, 6-6, 310, Texas A&M
Tackle: Taylor Lewan, junior, 6-8, 309, Michigan
Guard: Chance Warmack, senior, 6-3, 320, Alabama
Guard: Jonathan Cooper, senior, 6-3, 295, North Carolina
Center: Barrett Jones, senior, 6-5, 302, Alabama
Tight end: Zach Ertz, senior, 6-6, 252, Stanford
Receiver: Marqise Lee, sophomore, 6-0, 195, Southern California
Receiver: Terrance Williams, senior, 6-2, 205, Baylor
All-purpose player: Tavon Austin, senior, 5-9, 171, West Virginia
Kicker: Cairo Santos, junior, 5-8, 160, Tulane

End: Jadeveon Clowney, sophomore, 6-6, 256, South Carolina
End: Bjoern Werner, junior, 6-4, 255, Florida State
Tackle: Star Lotulelei, senior, 6-4, 320, Utah
Tackle: Will Sutton, junior, 6-1, 267, Arizona State
Linebacker: Manti Te'o, senior, 6-2, 255, Notre Dame
Linebacker: Jarvis Jones, junior, 6-3, 241, Georgia
Linebacker: C.J. Mosley, junior, 6-2, 232, Alabama
Cornerback: Dee Milliner, junior, 6-1, 199, Alabama
Cornerback: Jordan Poyer, sophomore, 6-0, 172, Oregon State
Safety: Phillip Thomas, senior, 6-1, 215, Fresno State
Safety: Matt Elam, junior, 5-10, 202, Florida
Punter: Ryan Allen, senior, 6-2, 215, Louisiana Tech

Quarterback: Collin Klein, senior, Kansas State
Running back: Kenjon Barner, senior, Oregon
Running back: Johnathan Franklin, senior, UCLA
Tackle: D.J. Fluker, junior, Alabama
Tackle: David Yankey, junior, Stanford
Guard: Spencer Long, junior, Nebraska
Guard: Cyril Richardson, junior, Baylor
Center: Dalton Freeman, senior, Clemson
Tight end: Tyler Eifert, senior, Notre Dame
Receiver: Stedman Bailey, junior, West Virginia
Receiver: Quinton Patton, senior, Louisiana Tech
All-purpose player: Jordan Lynch, junior, Northern Illinois
Kicker: Dustin Hopkins, senior, Florida State

End: Damontre Moore, junior, Texas A&M
End: Stephon Tuitt, sophomore, Notre Dame
Tackle: Johnathan Hankins, junior, Ohio State
Tackle: Kawann Short, senior, Purdue
Linebacker: Kevin Minter, junior, LSU
Linebacker: Anthony Barr, junior, UCLA
Linebacker: Arthur Brown, senior, Kansas State
Cornerback: Johnthan Banks, senior, Mississippi State
Cornerback: Bradley Roby, sophomore, Ohio State
Safety: Eric Reid, junior, LSU
Safety: Tony Jefferson, junior, Oklahoma
Punter: Riley Stephenson, senior, BYU

Quarterback: A.J. McCarron, junior, Alabama
Running back: Stefphon Jefferson, junior, Nevada
Running back: Giovani Bernard, sophomore, North Carolina
Tackle: Jake Matthews, junior, Texas A&M
Tackle: Eric Fisher, senior, Central Michigan
Guard: Larry Warford, senior, Kentucky
Guard: Xavier Su'a-Filo, sophomore, UCLA
Center: Braxston Cave, senior, Notre Dame
Tight end: Austin Seferian-Jenkins, sophomore, Washington
Receiver: DeAndre Hopkins, junior, Clemson
Receiver: Cobi Hamilton, senior, Arkansas
All-purpose player: Dri Archer, junior, Kent State
Kicker: Caleb Sturgis, senior, Florida

End: John Simon, senior, Ohio State
End: Sam Montgomery, junior, LSU.
Tackle: Shariff Floyd, junior, Florida
Tackle: Chris Jones, senior, Bowling Green.
Linebacker: Khaseem Greene, senior, Rutgers
Linebacker: Trent Murphy, senior, Stanford
Linebacker: Kyle Van Noy, junior, BYU
Cornerback: Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, sophomore, Oregon
Cornerback: Jason Verrett, junior, TCU
Safety: Ed Reynolds, junior, Stanford
Safety: Ty Zimmerman, junior, Kansas State
Punter: Kyle Christy, sophomore, Florida

A&Mís Matthews, Garrett named preseason All-Americans
SEC Network
Texas A&M
The Parking Spot
Raising Canes
C.C. Creations
Uploaded Ad